MSU Phi Kappa Phi named Chapter of Excellence

October 5, 2011

The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi recently recognized the campus chapter at Mississippi State University as a Chapter of Excellence. The award is given to chapters that excel in recognizing and promoting academic excellence in all fields of higher education and engaging the community of scholars in service to others.
"Behind every Chapter of Excellence is a committed group of officers who give generously of their time and talent to recognize outstanding students," said Lourdes Barro, the Society's acting executive director. She added, "Officers of award-winning chapters make it possible for students to benefit from Phi Kappa Phi's award programs and leadership opportunities."
Mississippi State's officers are Missy Hopper, president; Don Grebner, president-elect; Steve Grado, secretary; Noel Addy, treasurer; Giselle Munn, public relations; Lindsay Linhares, student vice president; Kaitlin Lewis, student public relations.
By receiving the Chapter of Excellence distinction, Mississippi State's chapter is being recognized as a thriving organization that meets frequently, holds annual initiations, and applies frequently for Phi Kappa Phi's select scholarships, grants, and fellowships.
The Chapter of Excellence Award includes:
--a commendation letter from the Society sent to chapter officers and campus administration;
--special recognition on Society web site, publications and at Phi Kappa Phi's national conventions;
--specially designed logo for use in chapter communications;
--recognition advertisements in local media and educational journals; and
--$500 award

More About Phi Kappa Phi
Founded in 1897 and headquartered in Baton Rouge, La., Phi Kappa Phi is the nation's oldest, largest and most selective all-discipline honor society. Phi Kappa Phi inducts annually approximately 30,000 students, faculty, professional staff and alumni. The Society has chapters on more than 300 select colleges and universities in North America and the Philippines. Membership is by invitation only to the top 10 percent of seniors and graduate students and 7.5 percent of juniors. Faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction also qualify.
Since its founding, more than 1 million members have been initiated. Some of the organization's more notable members include former President Jimmy Carter, Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton, NASA Astronaut Wendy Lawrence, writer John Grisham, opera singer Renee Fleming, journalist and broadcaster Deborah Norville and Netscape founder James Barksdale.
The Society has awarded approximately $13 million since the inception of its awards program in 1932. Today, more than $700,000 is awarded annually to qualifying members and non-members through graduate fellowships, undergraduate study abroad scholarships, member and chapter awards and grants for local and national literacy initiatives. The Society's mission is "To recognize and promote academic excellence in all fields of higher education and to engage the community of scholars in service to others."
For more information on Phi Kappa Phi, please call 1-800-804-9880 or visit