Honorary doctoral degree nominations wanted

October 31, 2013

Nominations for honorary doctoral degrees to be awarded by Mississippi State University at the spring commencement ceremony are being accepted until Jan. 10, 2014.

Nominations, including supporting materials, should be sent to the Honorary Degree Committee in care of the Office of the Provost and Executive Vice President.

Under IHL guidelines, persons eligible for the doctor of laws, doctor of science, doctor of humane letters, doctor of creative and performing arts or doctor of public service must have demonstrated nationally recognized sustained achievement in scholarship, public service, creative and performing arts or professional activity.

Faculty, staff, and administrators of the university and elected or appointed public officials are ineligible for an honorary degree until one year after leaving their position. Candidates for public office also are ineligible.

Those who are eligible to submit nominations are MSU faculty, staff, students and alumni.