MSU Foundation announces board leaders

The Mississippi State University Foundation is announcing 2013 leaders and incoming members for the 46-seat board of directors that guides the fundraising arm of the 135-year-old land grant institution.

Incoming officers with one-year terms that began Jan. 1 include Bobby S. Shackouls of Houston, Texas; Earnest W. "Earnie" Deavenport of Kiawah Island, S.C., and Banner Elk, N.C.; and Mary M. Childs of Ripley.

Mississippi native Shackouls begins his first term as board president, following several terms as vice president. Shackouls earned a bachelor of science from Mississippi State in chemical engineering in 1972, and was awarded a 2010 honorary doctor of science. He is the retired chairman, president and CEO of Burlington Resources Inc.

Deavenport, a 1960 MSU chemical engineering graduate, is the incoming vice president. He concluded a successful business career in 2001, retiring as chairman and CEO of Kingsport, Tenn.-based Eastman Chemical Co. In 2011, he was honored by his alma mater with an honorary doctor of science degree. He also holds a master's degree at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Childs is the new foundation treasurer. President, CEO, COO, and vice chairman of The Peoples Bank, she is a 1980 banking and finance graduate who is completing a three-year term on the board.

MSU staff members make up the remaining board officers. John P. Rush, vice president for development and alumni, is the board's CEO; David Easley, executive director of finance, chief financial officer; and Jack McCarty, executive director of development, board secretary. All are MSU graduates.

Chartered in 1962, the MSU Foundation has raised more than $1 billion in its history. It closed fiscal year 2012 marking the largest giving year ever recorded for Mississippi State with more than $86 million raised. The organization administers most of the campus-based fundraising activities and endowment funds.

New members beginning three-year terms include:

--Linda F. Parker of Bolton. Secretary of Sunbelt Wholesale and active with many area organizations, she is a longtime friend of the university.

--Nancy Qualls of Little Rock, Ark. President of Qualls and Associates, is a bachelor's and master's degree graduate of Oklahoma City University.

--Wallace L. Seal of Bay Saint Louis. A 2000 MSU geosciences graduate, he manages North Beach Haulers LLC.

--Milton Sundbeck of West Point. President and CEO of Southern Ionics Inc., he studied chemistry at the University of Texas and accounting at West Texas A&M University.

Members may be reappointed after leaving the board for a year after their terms expire. Seven MSU alumni are returning to the board for new three-year appointments, including:

--John N. "Nutie" Dowdle of Columbus. Chairman of the board of Dowdle Enterprises, he is a 1965 marketing graduate.

--Haley R. Fisackerly of Jackson. A 1987 management graduate, he is president and CEO of Entergy Mississippi. He also holds a master's degree in public policy administration from George Washington University.

--Hassell H. Franklin of Houston [Miss.]. Chairman and CEO of the Franklin Corp., he is a 1959 management graduate.

--Wilbert G. "Mickey" Holliman Jr. of Belden. Retired chairman and CEO of Furniture Brands International, he is a 1960 management graduate.

--Richard H. Puckett Sr. of Jackson. Chairman and CEO of Puckett Machinery Co., he is a 1977 general business administration graduate.

--Richard A. Rula of Jackson. President of Hemphill Construction Co., he is a 1970 civil engineering graduate.

--Turner A. Wingo of Collierville, Tenn. A 1967 general business administration graduate, he is the retired owner of Sherry Hallmark.

For more information on the MSU Foundation, visit

Amy Cagle | MSU Foundation

Return to Memo

Mississippi State University  •  Mississippi State, MS 39762  •  Main Telephone: (662) 325-2323  •   Contact: The Editor  |  The Webmaster  •   Updated: February 11, 2013Facebook Twitter