Staff development program selects 14

Fourteen Mississippi State staff members have been chosen for the 2013 Learning Experience for Aspiring Professionals (LEAP) program.

Meeting together for the first time in mid-March, Provost and Executive Vice President Jerry Gilbert welcomed this year's class to LEAP and provided them with an overview of its goals and expectations.

Over the next nine months, participants will meet with campus and community experts to discuss, explore and understand the goals and priorities of the land-grant institution and its departments.

University operations, building effective teams, managing employee performance, building relationships and influence, and strategic thinking are among the topics that will be covered.

LEAP's primary purpose is to provide advanced knowledge, enhanced leadership skills, and direct, practical work application for selected MSU employees, according to Meg Arnold, PHR, the learning and development manager for Human Resources Management.

“Employee development programs such as LEAP help give professionals at Mississippi State the tools they need to compete and succeed,” she said.

Chosen through a competitive nomination and selection process, this year's participants are:

Heather Andrews, information services coordinator, Shared Advancement Services;

Bobbie Baker, business manager II, Vice President for Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine;

Michael Busby, manager/distance education, Center for Distance Education;

David Garraway, video program manager, University Television Center/University Relations;

Clay Hill, websites manager/coordinator of web services; MSU Libraries Web Services;

NaToya Hill, recruitment, retention and program specialist, Office of Institutional Diversity and Inclusion;

Shauncey Hill, business manager, Institute for Imaging and Analytical Technology;

Melissa Inmon, procurement card manager, Office of Procurement and Contracts;

Nicole Ivancic, contract and grant specialist, Computer Science and Engineering;

Mashala Pulliam, IGBB accountant, High Performance Computing Collaboratory/Institute for Genomics, Biocomputing and Biotechnology;

Andrew Rendon, assistant dean of student affairs, Division of Student Affairs;

Alexander Washington, loan counselor, Student Financial Aid;

Christine Williams, Institutional Review Board compliance administrator, Office of Regulatory Compliance and Safety;

Lari Wright, associate director for administrative operations, Housing and Residence Life.

Session presenters from campus for 2013 include Greg Bohach, Darrell Easley, Sharon Fanning, Bill Kibler, Lemond Irvin, Joan Lucas, Scott Maynard, Wanda McCallum, Patrik Nordin, Allison Pearson, David Shaw, Cade Smith, Judy Spencer, Tommy Stevenson, Kacey Strickland, Scott Stricklin, John Rush, Jason Townsend, Amy Tuck, Ron White, Carmen Wilder and Don Zant.

A LEAP graduation presentation and reception will be held in December.

For additional information about the program, please contact Arnold at or 662-325-3713.

Jim Laird | University Relations

Return to Memo

Mississippi State University  •  Mississippi State, MS 39762  •  Main Telephone: (662) 325-2323  •   Contact: The Editor  |  The Webmaster  •   Updated: April 1, 2013Facebook Twitter