University to honor outstanding women April 5

Mississippi State is honoring next month eight university and community women for contributions to the land-grant institution.

During a public reception April 5, the President's Commission on the Status of Women formally introduces its 2011 Outstanding Women Award winners and recognizes all the nominees. The 3-5 p.m. event takes place in the first-floor lobby of the Bryan Athletic Administration Building.

This year's winners include:

Michele H. Anderson, Outstanding Professional (Non-Faculty) Woman;

Lori M. Bruce, Outstanding Executive/Administrative/Managerial Woman;

M. Clare Mallory, Outstanding Community Woman;

Thelma J. Neal, Outstanding Service/Maintenance Woman;

Joy C. Odom, Outstanding Secretarial/Clerical Woman;

Mary Celeste Reese, Outstanding Faculty Woman;

Rachel W. Wheeler of Cleveland, Outstanding Graduate Woman; and

Kristin L. Williams of Pheba, Outstanding Undergraduate Woman

"Every year, we take time to celebrate women who have made significant contributions to the university, as well as to our local communities," said Rose Mary Dill, chair of the PCSW Awards Committee. "We are looking forward to a wonderful afternoon with the nominees, winners and their guests."

Additional information about the MSU President's Commission on the Status of Women is available at

Return to Memo

Mississippi State University  •  Mississippi State, MS 39762  •  Main Telephone: (662) 325-2323  •   Contact: The Editor  |  The Webmaster  •   Updated: March 28, 2011Facebook Twitter