Coble among first SEC faculty honorees


Keith Coble

W.L. Giles Distinguished Professor Keith H. Coble of Mississippi State's agricultural economics department is receiving the Southeastern Conference's 2012 Faculty Achievement Award.

The SEC honor recognizes university professors for achievement in research, scholarship and service. One faculty member from each SEC institution was selected on the basis of outstanding records in these areas, in addition to serving as role models for other faculty and students.

Coble joined MSU's faculty in 1997 after serving at the Economic Research Service of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. He has published more than 65 scientific research journal articles addressing risk management, agricultural and food policy, renewable energy, insurance, and experimental economics.

He teaches a capstone undergraduate class addressing food and agricultural policy, in which he incorporates major team projects and a class debate to enhance reasoning and communication skills. He also teaches graduate production economics and research seminar.

Coble received the Southern Agricultural Economics Association Distinguished Professional Contribution in the Teaching of a Course in 2006. He also has testified before Congressional Committees and made numerous studies and reviews for the USDA. His insurance analysis and studies have modified several billion dollars of crop insurance premiums in the U.S.

Coble earned his bachelor's and master's degrees from the University of Missouri and his doctorate from Texas A&M University.

In presenting the awards, the SEC becomes the only Division I conference within the National Collegiate Athletic Association currently recognizing university faculty for their achievements, unrelated to athletics or student-athletes.

SEC Faculty Achievement Award winners will receive a $5,000 honorarium, and Coble will become MSU's nominee for the SEC Professor of the Year Award.

"We are very proud of Dr. Coble's selection for this award as he is an outstanding representative of our university," said MSU Provost Jerry Gilbert. "Dr. Coble's exceptional work with students and colleagues shows his commitment to teaching and research. He is a professor who truly impacts students and prepares them to be leaders in the future."

Chosen by a selection committee of SEC provosts, the SEC Faculty Achievement Awards and the SEC Professor of the Year Award are part of a set of non-athletically related academic initiatives the conference has undertaken through its SEC Academic Consortium to encourage academic leadership and collaboration within the SEC membership.

Allison Matthews | University Relations

Return to Memo

Mississippi State University  •  Mississippi State, MS 39762  •  Main Telephone: (662) 325-2323  •   Contact: The Editor  |  The Webmaster  •   Updated: April 16, 2012Facebook Twitter