BCoE achievements recognized during banquet


Burak Eksioglu and Nicolas Younan

The Bagley College of Engineering celebrated a year of accomplishments and presented two faculty awards during the annual Faculty Excellence Program at Old Waverly in West Point.

Among the night's honorees were Nicolas Younan, who received the Career Achievement Award, and Burak Eksioglu, who received the Research Award.

Younan serves as head of the electrical and computer engineering department and holds the James Worth Bagley Chair. He joined the college in 1988 as a visiting assistant professor and moved up the ranks to being a full professor in 2001. During that time he has collaborated with the European Space Agency, Italy; Meraka Institute, South Africa; the Romanian Space Agency; Polytechnic University of Bucharest, Romania; and Beihang University, China.

He is a senior member of IEEE and several of its associated societies, as well as the American Society of Engineering Education. Younan is active in the fields of image processing and remote sensing, serving as editor, chair and member for numerous publications, conferences, workshops and committees within the specialty. He earned his bachelor's and master's in electrical engineering from Mississippi State, and a doctoral degree in the same field from Ohio University.

Eksioglu specializes in supply chain optimization and management. He currently serves as an associate professor in industrial and systems engineering and co-director of the National Center for Intermodal Transportation. Since joining the BCoE in 2003, he has worked on research projects that have received more than $13 million in funding. He earned a bachelor's degree in industrial engineering from Bogazici University, Istanbul, a master's in engineering business management from the University of Warwick, Coventry, United Kingdom, and a doctoral degree in industrial and systems engineering from the University of Florida.

Also honored at the banquet were the BCoE's previously announced National Science Foundation CAREER Award recipients, professorship and endowed chair positions, Fellow honorees, and the Academy of Distinguished Teachers. These include:

Five recipients of NSF CAREER awards, highly competitive grants from one of the organization's most prestigious programs: Sandra Eksioglu, assistant professor, industrial and systems engineering; Yong Fu, assistant professor, electrical and computer engineering; Pan Li, assistant professor, electrical and computer engineering; Ming Xin, assistant professor, aerospace engineering; and Changhe Yuan, assistant professor, computer science and engineering.

Five newly filled or renewed professorships and endowed chairs: Pasquale Cinnella, Bill and Carolyn Cobb Chair in Engineering; Steve Daniewicz, PACCAR Endowed Chair; James Fowler, Billie Ball Endowed Professorship in Engineering; Jason Keith, Earnest W. Davenport Chair in Chemical Engineering; and Robert Moorhead, Billie Ball Endowed Professorship in Engineering.

Tom Lacey, who became the college's sixth Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, and the college's newest members of the Academy of Distinguished Teachers, Sandra Eksioglu and Bill Elmore.

The BCoE presents faculty, staff and student research awards at the conclusion of each academic year. Winners are nominated by fellow faculty and staff and chosen by a multi-disciplinary committee. The remainder of the college's research awards will be presented during the annual faculty and staff picnic.

Susan Lassetter | Bagley College of Engineering

Return to Memo

Mississippi State University  •  Mississippi State, MS 39762  •  Main Telephone: (662) 325-2323  •   Contact: The Editor  |  The Webmaster  •   Updated: May 14, 2012Facebook Twitter