Picnic ushers in summer for Bagley College


Sunny skies and cheerful spirits marked the beginning of summer for Bagley College of Engineering faculty and staff at the annual appreciation picnic.

On May 8, faculty and staff from all of the college's department and centers gathered on the Drill Field to enjoy barbecue, fried catfish and all the fixings. After lunch, Dean Sarah Rajala updated the audience about the status of the college and presented some end-of-the-year awards.

"It's been a great year for the Bagley College of Engineering with our people and our work being recognized not only here at the university, but also at the national and international levels," Rajala said. "It's very rewarding to see our people and our college succeed."

The nearly 100 people in attendance cheered as the dean enumerated the many accolades earned by members of the BCoE family during the past year. And before the crowd could get too hot in the afternoon sun, she presented this year's staff appreciation and research awards.

In the research category, William Holmes, director of advanced instrumentation for the Swalm School of Chemical Engineering, earned the BCoE's $1,000 professional support staff research award. Jonathan Harper, a senior in computer science, earned the undergraduate research award, while Wei Li and Brandon Malone each earned a graduate student research award. In addition to a certificate, each student will also receive $750.

In addition to one top award, the college was able to secure funding for six additional winners in each staff category.

Machaunda Bush, undergraduate coordinator in the aerospace engineering department, earned the 2012 professional staff award and a $1,000 prize. Earning $750, the other professional staff award recipients include Susan Lassetter, publications editor; Dana Lewis, a contracts and grants specialist at the Center for Advanced Vehicular Systems (CAVS); Sandra Reynolds, accountant; Mary Ann Richardson, business manager industrial and systems engineering and CAVS-Extension; and Cheryl Woody, senior accountant at CAVS.

The 2012 support staff award winner and recipient of a $1,000 prize was Rose Mary Dill, administrative assistant at CAVS. This category's other winners and recipients of $750 awards include Tammy Coleman, administrative assistant in mechanical engineering; Ellen Harpole, business coordinator in electrical and computer engineering; Gail Jackson, administrative assistant at CAVS; Bonnie Ladner, office associate in industrial and systems engineering; Elizabeth Miller, administrative assistant in aerospace engineering; and Debbie Stafford, office associate in the dean's office.

Susan Lassetter | Bagley College of Engineering

Return to Memo

Mississippi State University  •  Mississippi State, MS 39762  •  Main Telephone: (662) 325-2323  •   Contact: The Editor  |  The Webmaster  •   Updated: May 21, 2012Facebook Twitter