Standing Committees


Mississippi State faculty, staff, and students bring a wealth of talent and expertise to the university in a broad range of subjects. Collectively, the people of Mississippi State offer a valuable knowledge resource the university can draw on in making decisions on a wide array of issues and in planning for an increasingly complex future. The structure that allows this reservoir of human potential to be applied to specific problems is the university's system of standing committees and councils.

Committees deal with a wide range of issues. They give advice and counsel on computers, curricula, and facilities use. They provide an avenue for the entire university community to have a voice in the operation of the institution, and in setting its direction.

This website lists each of the standing committees and councils and their memberships. Committee assignments become effective August 1 of each year. Appointments typically are for terms of not more than three years, although successive appointments may be made. The year in which an individual's appointment to a particular committee expires is shown. Individuals whose university titles are given in lieu of an expiration date serve on that committee by virtue of their position or special expertise, and are appointed for indefinite terms.

Please provide suggestions through committee channels on how the functioning of committees at the university can be improved.

Please send updates or corrections to Jim Laird.


Textbook Committee
Committee reports to: Provost and Executive Vice President

The purpose of the committee is to to ensure compliance with Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning textbook policy. Members are appointed by the Provost and Executive Vice President. Reports to the Provost and Executive Vice President.

Name Title / Dept. Position Elected / Appointed Term Expires
Borazjani, Arman Student Association A 2019
Brooks, Cecy Barnes & Noble A
Dickerson, John Registrar Chair A
Green, Robert Bagley College of Engineering A
Hall, Gregory College of Architecture, Art & Design A
Hyatt, Regina Division of Student Affairs A
Jayroe, Terry College of Education A
Jones, Mary Ann Vice President, Faculty Senate A 2019
McLaughlin, Ron College of Veterinary Medicine A
Munn, Ian College of Forest Resources A
Peyton, Gail MSU Libraries A
Rogers, Kevin College of Business A
Ryan, Peter Associate Provost A
Travis, Rick College of Arts & Sciences A
Willard, Scott College of Agriculture & Life Sciences A