MSU’s Keenum named chair of College Football Playoff Board of Managers

Mark E. Keenum to lead College Football Playoff Board of Managers

Contact: Harriet Laird

STARKVILLE, Miss.—Mississippi State University President Mark E. Keenum has been selected as chair of the College Football Playoff (CFP) Board of Managers.

Keenum has served as the Southeastern Conference representative on the board since 2015. He served a term as president of the Southeastern Conference from 2016-2018.

“The College Football Playoff has made a name for itself over the past four years as a great way to decide the national champion in college football. That’s an important task, and I plan to lead this board in maintaining the integrity of the event,” Keenum said. “Working with the representatives of the nation's major athletic conferences, we will work to ensure the continued growth and success of the CFP.”

Entering its fifth season, the CFP determines the national champion of the NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision. Four teams play in two semifinal games, and the semifinal winners advance to the CFP National Championship.

The CFP Board of Managers is the governing board of CFP Administration, LLC, the organization that manages the administrative operations of the College Football Playoff. Members are the 10 FBS conferences (American Athletic, Atlantic Coast, Big Ten, Big 12, Conference USA, Mid-American, Mountain West, Pac-12, Southeastern and Sun Belt) and the University of Notre Dame.

The CFP’s business, property and affairs are governed by the board, comprised of the university presidents or chancellors from the 10 FBS conferences and Notre Dame. The board develops, reviews and approves annual budgets, policies and operating guidelines. It also appoints officers of the company. It has authority of overall primary aspects of the CFP’s operations.

MSU is Mississippi’s leading university, available online at