MSU staff graduate from Leadership Excellence for Accomplished Professionals program

Graduates of the 2018 Leadership Excellence for Accomplished Professionals program at Mississippi State are (seated, l-r) Terence Stringfellow, Jenny Burns, Lateshia Butler, Jaime Rickert, Josie Guerry, and Bailey Anderson; and (standing, l-r) Leah Kemp, Sawyer Bowering, Leslie Neal, Jenny Davis, Tracy Craven, Amanda Reed, Christy Wilder, Kristen Thompson and Lindsey Ketchum. Not pictured are Nick Hyer and Brad Skelton. (Photo by Beth Wynn)

Contact: James Carskadon

STARKVILLE, Miss.— Seventeen Mississippi State staff members are new graduates of the university’s Leadership Excellence for Accomplished Professionals program for 2018.

LEAP’s goals and purpose include the advancement of knowledge, enhancement of leadership skills, and direct practical work application for selected employees.

During the four-month program, participants met with campus and community leaders to explore and develop their leadership skills in many areas and to more effectively lead MSU’s efforts. Conflict resolution and decision-making, managing change, divergent thinking, effective team building and employee performance management were among session topics.

“It seems each year our LEAP program gets better and better and that’s because of the participants that make the commitment to their leadership development,” said Darrell Easley, learning and development manager for MSU’s human resources management department. “These leaders are already doing amazing work, and we look forward to seeing what more they will accomplish to keep Mississippi State leading the way in teaching, research, and service.”

Mississippi State Chief Human Resources Officer Judy Spencer delivered the keynote address during the recent graduation reception at MSU’s Hunter Henry Center.

Chosen through a competitive nomination and selection process, this year’s group includes:

—Baily Anderson, senior accountant, Office of Research and Economic Development

—Sawyer Bowering, athletic academic counselor, Athletic Academic Support Services

—Jenny Burns, academic affairs manager, College of Veterinary Medicine Academic Affairs

—Lateshia Butler, compliance specialist, Office of Compliance and Integrity

—Tracy Craven, instructional technology manager, Center for Distance Education

—Jenny Davis, auditor, Office of Internal Audit

—Josie Guerry, graduate and distance education manager, Bagley College of Engineering

—Nick Hyer, coordinator, Center for Student Success

—Leah Kemp, director, Carl Small Town Center

—Lindsey Ketchum, senior project manager, Office of Planning, Design, and Construction Administration

—Leslie Neal, marketing and events manager, MSU Career Center

—Amanda Reed, business manager, Office of Student Leadership and Community Engagement

—Jaime Rickert, research program manager, Institute for Clean Energy Technology

—Brad Skelton, project manager, Research and Curriculum Unit

—Terence Stringfellow, customer service manager, Parking and Transit Services

—Kristen Thompson, business manager, Delta Research and Extension Center

—Christy Wilder, research program manager, CVM Department of Basic Sciences

For additional information about LEAP, contact Easley at or 662-325-2203.

MSU is Mississippi’s leading university, available online at