Standing Committees


Mississippi State faculty, staff, and students bring a wealth of talent and expertise to the university in a broad range of subjects. Collectively, the people of Mississippi State offer a valuable knowledge resource the university can draw on in making decisions on a wide array of issues and in planning for an increasingly complex future. The structure that allows this reservoir of human potential to be applied to specific problems is the university's system of standing committees and councils.

Committees deal with a wide range of issues. They give advice and counsel on computers, curricula, and facilities use. They provide an avenue for the entire university community to have a voice in the operation of the institution, and in setting its direction.

This website lists each of the standing committees and councils and their memberships. Committee assignments become effective August 1 of each year. Appointments typically are for terms of not more than three years, although successive appointments may be made. The year in which an individual's appointment to a particular committee expires is shown. Individuals whose university titles are given in lieu of an expiration date serve on that committee by virtue of their position or special expertise, and are appointed for indefinite terms.

Please provide suggestions through committee channels on how the functioning of committees at the university can be improved.

Please send updates or corrections to Jim Laird.


Commencement Committee
Committee reports to: Provost and Executive Vice President

Oversees commencement ceremonies and recommends changes as needed. Registrar serves as chair and nominates representatives for two year terms. Reports to the Provost and Executive Vice President.

Name Title / Dept. Position Elected / Appointed Term Expires
Adkerson, Amy Associate Registrar
Bash, Vergie College of Business 2019
Berry, Meg Office of the President Ex-Officio
Collier, Vanessa Event Services 2020
Davis, Brian Faculty Senate A 2019
Dickerson, John Registrar Chair
Garraway, David University Television Center 2020
Green, Robert Bagley College of Engineering 2020
Logan, Jay Humphrey Coliseum 2019
Ramsey, Jordan Alumni Office 2020
Ryan, Peter Associate Provost of Academic Affairs Ex-Officio
Shaw, Emily College of Agriculture & Life Sciences 2019
Stevenson, Ela Student Association 2019
Tomlinson, Bobby Athletics Ex-Officio
White, Micah Student Support Services Ex-Officio