Standing Committees


Mississippi State faculty, staff, and students bring a wealth of talent and expertise to the university in a broad range of subjects. Collectively, the people of Mississippi State offer a valuable knowledge resource the university can draw on in making decisions on a wide array of issues and in planning for an increasingly complex future. The structure that allows this reservoir of human potential to be applied to specific problems is the university's system of standing committees and councils.

Committees deal with a wide range of issues. They give advice and counsel on computers, curricula, and facilities use. They provide an avenue for the entire university community to have a voice in the operation of the institution, and in setting its direction.

This website lists each of the standing committees and councils and their memberships. Committee assignments become effective August 1 of each year. Appointments typically are for terms of not more than three years, although successive appointments may be made. The year in which an individual's appointment to a particular committee expires is shown. Individuals whose university titles are given in lieu of an expiration date serve on that committee by virtue of their position or special expertise, and are appointed for indefinite terms.

Please provide suggestions through committee channels on how the functioning of committees at the university can be improved.

Please send updates or corrections to Jim Laird.


Executive Council
Committee reports to: President

The Council reviews and makes recommendations to the president on the proposed adoption or modification of university policies and procedures.

Name Title / Dept. Position Elected / Appointed Term Expires
Bohach, Gregory Vice President for Agriculture, Forestry, and Veterinary Medicine
Bonner, Judy Provost and Executive Vice President
Brooks, Susan Chair, Staff Council
Chamblee, Tim Assistant VP & Director, Office of Institutional Research & Effectiveness (non-voting)
Cohen, John Athletic Director
Ervin, Lesia Director, Internal Audit (non-voting)
Follett, Randy President, Faculty Senate
Forbes, RaSheda Assistant Vice President for Multicultural Affairs
Hyatt, Regina Vice President for Student Affairs
Keenum, Mark E. President Chair
Laird, Jim Research & Executive Support Editor, Office of the President (non-voting)
Lucas, Joan General Counsel
McMurray, Tyler President, Student Association
Parrott, Steve Interim Chief Information Officer (non-voting)
Rush, John Vice President for Development and Alumni
Shaw, David Vice President for Research and Economic Development
Spencer, Judy Chief Human Resources Officer
Tuck, Amy Vice President for Campus Operations
Zant, Don Vice President for Finance and CFO