Standing Committees


Mississippi State faculty, staff, and students bring a wealth of talent and expertise to the university in a broad range of subjects. Collectively, the people of Mississippi State offer a valuable knowledge resource the university can draw on in making decisions on a wide array of issues and in planning for an increasingly complex future. The structure that allows this reservoir of human potential to be applied to specific problems is the university's system of standing committees and councils.

Committees deal with a wide range of issues. They give advice and counsel on computers, curricula, and facilities use. They provide an avenue for the entire university community to have a voice in the operation of the institution, and in setting its direction.

This website lists each of the standing committees and councils and their memberships. Committee assignments become effective August 1 of each year. Appointments typically are for terms of not more than three years, although successive appointments may be made. The year in which an individual's appointment to a particular committee expires is shown. Individuals whose university titles are given in lieu of an expiration date serve on that committee by virtue of their position or special expertise, and are appointed for indefinite terms.

Please provide suggestions through committee channels on how the functioning of committees at the university can be improved.

Please send updates or corrections to Jim Laird.


Symbols, Trademarks, and Licensing Committee
Committee reports to: Vice President for Development and Alumni

Makes recommendations concerning university symbols, graphic standards, trademarks, and licensing of names and symbols.

Name Title / Dept. Position Elected / Appointed Term Expires
Bourgeois, Angi Art 2017
Hewlett, Sharon Licensing Manager, Office of General Counsel 2017
Lammons, Cathy Development and Alumni 2017
Mullen, Tabor Assistant Dean of Students 2017
North, Elizabeth Head, Agricultural Communications 2017
Salter, Sid Director, Office of Public Affairs Chair 2017
Teasler, Hal University Television Center 2017
Wetherbee, Scott Sr. Associate Athletic Director for External Relations 2017