Geography honor society inducts faculty and staff

Eighteen students, faculty and staff members at Mississippi State make up the inaugural class of the university's international honor society in geography.

Gamma Theta Upsilon was founded in 1928 at what now is Illinois State University. Currently enrolling nearly 60,000 members spread among eight regional districts, it became a national organization in 1931 and was designated an international geographical society in 1969.

Sponsored by the geosciences department, the MSU chapter joins some 280 sister organizations in working to support and enhance geography knowledge and awareness.

Faculty inductees include geosciences assistant professors Shrinidhi Ambinakudige and Kathleen M. Sherman-Morris, and instructors Joan R. Mylroie and Timothy J. Wallace. Brian N. Beaulieu, a geosciences graduate now working on campus as a data management coordinator, also was inducted.

Sammy McDavid | University Relations

Return to Memo

Mississippi State University  •  Mississippi State, MS 39762  •  Main Telephone: (662) 325-2323  •   Contact: The Editor  |  The Webmaster  •   Updated: May 2, 2011Facebook Twitter