Submission Deadline: Honorary Doctoral Degree Nominations for Spring 2018 Commencement

Tuesday, January 9, 2018 - 5:00 pm

Nominations for honorary doctoral degrees to be awarded by Mississippi State University at spring 2018 commencement ceremonies are being accepted until Jan. 9, 2018. MSU faculty, staff, students and alumni may send nominations with supporting materials to the Honorary Degree Committee in care of the Office of the Provost and Executive Vice President. The Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning authorized state universities to begin awarding the degrees in 1999 and generally allows each institution to give up to two each year. Mississippi State has awarded 31 honorary degrees since then. Under IHL guidelines, persons eligible for the doctor of laws, doctor of science, doctor of humane letters, doctor of creative and performing arts, or doctor of public service must have demonstrated nationally recognized sustained achievement in scholarship, public service, creative and performing arts, or professional activity. Faculty, staff and administrators of the university and elected or appointed public officials are ineligible for an honorary degree until one year after leaving their position. Candidates for public office also are ineligible. Contact the Office of the Provost and Executive Vice President at 662-325-3742 for more information or with questions.