Submission Deadline: Honorary Degree Nominations

December 16, 2019

About this event

Today [Dec. 16] is deadline for Mississippi State faculty, staff, students and alumni to submit nominations for honorary doctoral degrees that will be awarded at the university's May 2020 spring commencement ceremonies. Nominations, including supporting materials, should be sent to the Honorary Degree Committee in care of the Office of the Provost and Executive Vice President. Names of nominees will be kept confidential until they are approved.

Under IHL guidelines, persons eligible for the doctor of laws, doctor of science, doctor of humane letters, doctor of creative and performing arts, or doctor of public service must have demonstrated nationally recognized sustained achievement in scholarship, public service, creative and performing arts, or professional activity. 

Faculty, staff and administrators of the university and elected or appointed public officials are ineligible for an honorary degree until one year after leaving their position. Candidates for public office also are ineligible.

For more information or with questions, contact the Office of the Provost and Executive Vice President at 662-325-3742.


Important Deadlines
Contact Name
Dinah Jenkins