Standing Committees


Mississippi State faculty, staff, and students bring a wealth of talent and expertise to the university in a broad range of subjects. Collectively, the people of Mississippi State offer a valuable knowledge resource the university can draw on in making decisions on a wide array of issues and in planning for an increasingly complex future. The structure that allows this reservoir of human potential to be applied to specific problems is the university's system of standing committees and councils.

Committees deal with a wide range of issues. They give advice and counsel on computers, curricula, and facilities use. They provide an avenue for the entire university community to have a voice in the operation of the institution, and in setting its direction.

This website lists each of the standing committees and councils and their memberships. Committee assignments become effective August 1 of each year. Appointments typically are for terms of not more than three years, although successive appointments may be made. The year in which an individual's appointment to a particular committee expires is shown. Individuals whose university titles are given in lieu of an expiration date serve on that committee by virtue of their position or special expertise, and are appointed for indefinite terms.

Please provide suggestions through committee channels on how the functioning of committees at the university can be improved.

Please send updates or corrections to Jim Laird.


Academic Deans Council
Committee reports to: Provost and Executive Vice President

Advises the Provost and Executive Vice President on academic matters. Appointed due to position. No specified term. Reports to the Provost and Executive Vice President.

Name Title / Dept. Position Elected / Appointed Term Expires
Provine, Charles Student Association 2019
Blackbourn, Richard Dean, College of Education
Bonner, Judy Provost and Executive Vice President Chair
Bourgeois, Angi Dean, College of Architecture, Art & Design
Chamblee, Timothy Assistant VP and Director, Office of Institutional Research and Effectivness Ex-Officio
Coleman, Frances Dean, MSU Libraries
Cruse, Terry Dale Administrative Director and Head of Campus - Meridian
Dickerson, John Registrar Ex-Officio
Hoblet, Kent Dean, College of Veterinary Medicine
Hopper, George Dean, College of Agriculture & Life Sciences and College of Forest Resources
Jones, Mary Ann Vice President, Faculty Senate 2019
Keith, Jason Dean, Bagley College of Engineering
Lucas, Joan General Counsel Ex-Officio
Oswald, Sharon Dean, College of Business
Parrott, Steve Interim Chief Information Officer Ex-Officio
Ryan, Peter Associate Provost for Academic Affairs and Interim Dean of the Graduate School
Seal, Susan Executive Director, Center for Distance Education Ex-Officio
Shaw, David VP for Research and Economic Development
Snyder, Christopher Dean, Shackouls Honors College
Spencer, Judy Chief Human Resources Officer Ex-Officio
Travis, Rick Dean, College of Arts & Sciences