Standing Committees


Mississippi State faculty, staff, and students bring a wealth of talent and expertise to the university in a broad range of subjects. Collectively, the people of Mississippi State offer a valuable knowledge resource the university can draw on in making decisions on a wide array of issues and in planning for an increasingly complex future. The structure that allows this reservoir of human potential to be applied to specific problems is the university's system of standing committees and councils.

Committees deal with a wide range of issues. They give advice and counsel on computers, curricula, and facilities use. They provide an avenue for the entire university community to have a voice in the operation of the institution, and in setting its direction.

This website lists each of the standing committees and councils and their memberships. Committee assignments become effective August 1 of each year. Appointments typically are for terms of not more than three years, although successive appointments may be made. The year in which an individual's appointment to a particular committee expires is shown. Individuals whose university titles are given in lieu of an expiration date serve on that committee by virtue of their position or special expertise, and are appointed for indefinite terms.

Please provide suggestions through committee channels on how the functioning of committees at the university can be improved.

Please send updates or corrections to Jim Laird.


Gerontology Committee
Committee reports to: Provost and Executive Vice President

Makes recommendations to the Provost and Executive Vice President concerning the certificate program in gerontology. Facilitates a collaborative teaching, research, and outreach effort in the area of gerontology at Mississippi State University, in the community, and throughout Mississippi. Chair elected by committee. Representatives are appointed. No specified term. Reports to the Provost and Executive Vice President.

Name Title / Dept. Position Elected / Appointed Term Expires
Adams-Price, Carolyn Department of Psychology Chair
Brown, Stan Department of Kinesiology
Carroll, Robin Interior Design Program
Cheng, Wen-Hsing Department of Food Science, Nutrition, and Health Promotion
Crudden, Adele National Research & Training Center on Blindness and Low Vision
Knight, Adam Department of Kinesiology
McKinley, Kenya Department of Social Work
Miller, Lyndsey Faculty Senate A 2019
Nadorff, Michael Department of Psychology
Ralston, Margaret Department of Sociology
Wilmoth, Joe School of Human Sciences