Standing Committees


Mississippi State faculty, staff, and students bring a wealth of talent and expertise to the university in a broad range of subjects. Collectively, the people of Mississippi State offer a valuable knowledge resource the university can draw on in making decisions on a wide array of issues and in planning for an increasingly complex future. The structure that allows this reservoir of human potential to be applied to specific problems is the university's system of standing committees and councils.

Committees deal with a wide range of issues. They give advice and counsel on computers, curricula, and facilities use. They provide an avenue for the entire university community to have a voice in the operation of the institution, and in setting its direction.

This website lists each of the standing committees and councils and their memberships. Committee assignments become effective August 1 of each year. Appointments typically are for terms of not more than three years, although successive appointments may be made. The year in which an individual's appointment to a particular committee expires is shown. Individuals whose university titles are given in lieu of an expiration date serve on that committee by virtue of their position or special expertise, and are appointed for indefinite terms.

Please provide suggestions through committee channels on how the functioning of committees at the university can be improved.

Please send updates or corrections to Jim Laird.


Graduate Council
Committee reports to: Provost and Executive Vice President

The Graduate Council is the executive committee of the Graduate Faculty and is responsible for the formulation of academic policy and programs related to graduate study at Mississippi State University. In addition, the Council may advise the Dean of the Graduate School on any matter they or the Dean feel is appropriate. The Chairperson of the Graduate Council is elected by and from the members of the Council. The Council consists of one elected member from each of the eight academic colleges offering graduate study (programs), and one less in number (seven) appointed by the Provost and Executive Vice President. Not more than two appointed faculty members may be from the same college or school. To be eligible for membership on the Council, appointed or elected members must have Level 1 status on the Graduate Faculty. The term of office is three years. A vacancy on the Council is filled in the same manner in which the member vacating the position was selected. In addition to the faculty, the Council has one graduate student representative who is usually the president of the Graduate Student Association. She/he is a voting member, and the term of office is one year. Ex officio members of the Graduate Council include the Dean of the Graduate School, Associate Dean of the Graduate School, Provost and Executive Vice President, Associate Provost for Academic Affairs, Vice President for Research and Economic Development, Dean of University Libraries, Director of Center for Distance Education, Associate Vice President & Executive Director of the International Institute, Director of Institutional Research and Effectiveness, Chairman of the University Committee on Courses and Curricula, and Associate Registrar.

Name Title / Dept. Position Elected / Appointed Term Expires
Adkerson, Amy Associate Registrar Ex-Officio
Armstrong, Kevin College of Arts & Sciences E 2021
Arnoldus, Henk College of Arts & Sciences A 2019
Bian, Linkan Bagley College of Engineering A 2021
Bonner, Judy Provost and Executive Vice President Ex-Officio
Brown-Johnson, Ashli College of Agriculture & Life Sciences A 2019
Buol, John President, Graduate Student Association A 2019
Carr, Russell College of Veterinary Medicine Vice Chair E 2019
Chamblee, Tim Director, Office of Institutional Research and Effectiveness Ex-Officio
Coleman, Frances Dean of University Libraries Ex-Officio
Dodds, Lara College of Arts & Sciences Chair A 2019
Dunne, Jim Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs Ex-Officio
Franz, Dana Chair UCCC Ex-Officio
Grebner, Donald College of Forest Resources E 2021
Hanson, Larry College of Veterinary Medicine A 2020
Harkess, Richard College of Agriculture & Life Sciences E 2020
Henry, Brien Interim Associate Dean, Graduate School Ex-Officio
Hill, Priscilla Bagley College of Engineering E 2021
Jordan, Julie Associate Vice President & Executive Director, International Institute Ex-Officio
Knight , Adam College of Education A 2020
Marler, Laura College of Business A 2021
Miller, Beth College of Architecture, Art & Design E 2020
Ponder, Nicole College of Business E 2019
Ryan, Peter Associate Provost for Academic Affairs and Interim Dean of the Graduate School Ex-Officio
Seal, Susan Center for Distance Education Ex-Officio
Shaw, David Vice President for Research and Economic Development Ex-Officio
Yu, Chien College of Education E 2020