Standing Committees


Mississippi State faculty, staff, and students bring a wealth of talent and expertise to the university in a broad range of subjects. Collectively, the people of Mississippi State offer a valuable knowledge resource the university can draw on in making decisions on a wide array of issues and in planning for an increasingly complex future. The structure that allows this reservoir of human potential to be applied to specific problems is the university's system of standing committees and councils.

Committees deal with a wide range of issues. They give advice and counsel on computers, curricula, and facilities use. They provide an avenue for the entire university community to have a voice in the operation of the institution, and in setting its direction.

This website lists each of the standing committees and councils and their memberships. Committee assignments become effective August 1 of each year. Appointments typically are for terms of not more than three years, although successive appointments may be made. The year in which an individual's appointment to a particular committee expires is shown. Individuals whose university titles are given in lieu of an expiration date serve on that committee by virtue of their position or special expertise, and are appointed for indefinite terms.

Please provide suggestions through committee channels on how the functioning of committees at the university can be improved.

Please send updates or corrections to Jim Laird.


Instructional Technology Advisory Committee
Committee reports to: Provost and Executive Vice President

Advises the Provost and Executive Vice President and the Academic Deans Council on instructional technology policy and priorities, including the operation of university units supporting instructional technology. The committee is expected to monitor the needs for, progress of, and the competitive position of the use of instructional technology in the programs of the university. Where appropriate, the committee should recommend goals and objectives, resource allocation strategies, support personnel and services, organizational structures, and exemplary instructional technology projects. Appointed by academic deans for three-year terms. Can be re-appointed to another three-year term. Chair appointed by the Provost and Executive Vice President for a one-year term.

Name Title / Dept. Position Elected / Appointed Term Expires
Alley, Kathleen Faculty Senate A 2018
Armstrong, Clay College of Education 2018
Baker, Drew Student Association 2018
Clark, Gibson Student Association 2018
Craven, Tracey Center for Distance Education Ex-Officio
Cunetto, Stephen H. MSU Libraries Ex-Officio
Dunne, Jim Center for Teaching and Learning Ex-Officio
Forde, John College of Arts & Sciences 2018
Godwin, Michael Director, University Television Center Ex-Officio
Grala, Robert College of Forest Resouces 2020
Linford, Bob College of Veterinary Medicine 2018
Mackin, Ben Student Association 2018
Miller, Lyndsey N. College of Architecture, Art & Design 2018
Owen, Emily Registrar Office Ex-Officio
Parrott, Steve Interim Chief Information Officer Ex-Officio
Pearson, Rodney A. College of Business Chair 2020
Roby, Yvett Staff Council, secondary 2018
Ryan, Peter Associate Provost for Academic Affairs Ex-Officio
Settle, Quisto College of Agriculture & Life Sciences 2018
Smith Morgan, Mariah MSU Extension 2019
Strawderman, Lesley Bagley College of Engineering 2020
Vanhorn, Avent Staff Council 2018