Standing Committees


Mississippi State faculty, staff, and students bring a wealth of talent and expertise to the university in a broad range of subjects. Collectively, the people of Mississippi State offer a valuable knowledge resource the university can draw on in making decisions on a wide array of issues and in planning for an increasingly complex future. The structure that allows this reservoir of human potential to be applied to specific problems is the university's system of standing committees and councils.

Committees deal with a wide range of issues. They give advice and counsel on computers, curricula, and facilities use. They provide an avenue for the entire university community to have a voice in the operation of the institution, and in setting its direction.

This website lists each of the standing committees and councils and their memberships. Committee assignments become effective August 1 of each year. Appointments typically are for terms of not more than three years, although successive appointments may be made. The year in which an individual's appointment to a particular committee expires is shown. Individuals whose university titles are given in lieu of an expiration date serve on that committee by virtue of their position or special expertise, and are appointed for indefinite terms.

Please provide suggestions through committee channels on how the functioning of committees at the university can be improved.

Please send updates or corrections to Jim Laird.


Academic Department Heads Executive Committee
Committee reports to: Provost and Executive Vice President

Advises the Provost and Executive Vice President on issues affecting academic department heads. Plans and coordinates the activities which seek to improve the performance of academic department heads. Serves as liaison among academic departments. One representative is elected by the department heads of each college for a three-year term.

Name Title / Dept. Position Elected / Appointed Term Expires
Berk, Michael College of Architecture, Art & Design E 2019
Berman, Mitch College of Arts & Sciences E 2021
Dean, Jeff College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Chair E 2020
Kouba, Andrew College of Forest Resources E 2019
Mackin, Andrew College of Veterinary Medicine E 2021
Mauldin, Shawn College of Business E 2020
Moyen, Eric College of Education E 2021
Usher, John Bagley College of Engineering E 2019