Standing Committees


Mississippi State faculty, staff, and students bring a wealth of talent and expertise to the university in a broad range of subjects. Collectively, the people of Mississippi State offer a valuable knowledge resource the university can draw on in making decisions on a wide array of issues and in planning for an increasingly complex future. The structure that allows this reservoir of human potential to be applied to specific problems is the university's system of standing committees and councils.

Committees deal with a wide range of issues. They give advice and counsel on computers, curricula, and facilities use. They provide an avenue for the entire university community to have a voice in the operation of the institution, and in setting its direction.

This website lists each of the standing committees and councils and their memberships. Committee assignments become effective August 1 of each year. Appointments typically are for terms of not more than three years, although successive appointments may be made. The year in which an individual's appointment to a particular committee expires is shown. Individuals whose university titles are given in lieu of an expiration date serve on that committee by virtue of their position or special expertise, and are appointed for indefinite terms.

Please provide suggestions through committee channels on how the functioning of committees at the university can be improved.

Please send updates or corrections to Jim Laird.


President's Commission on the Status of Minorities
Committee reports to: President

Serves as a forum for the discussion and analysis of issues related to the status of minorities; develops and supports programs and activities that enhance diversity; recommends actions that improve the representation, development, and success of minority faculty, staff and students to the President.

Name Title / Dept. Position Elected / Appointed Term Expires
Agee, Kelly Bagley College of Engineering Secretary E 2019
Baham, Tracey Office of Institutional Research and Effectiveness Chair E 2020
Davenport, LeRoy Student Leadership and Community Engagement Vice Chair E 2019
Emerson, Mayah Student Association A 2017
Fisher, Melody Communication E 2019
Forbes, RaSheda Assistant Vice President for Multicultural Affairs Ex-Officio A
Gardner, Antonio Food Science, Nutrition, and Health Promotion 2021
Gates, Diamond Holmes Cultural Diversity Center A
Hill, Shauncey International Institute | Staff Council Treasurer E 2019
Johnson, Kecia Sociology A
Kathuria, Sheeji Library E 2019
Kirkland, Brenda Geosciences E 2018
Kobia, Caroline School of Human Sciences E 2019
Lathan, Patty Faculty Senate A 2019
Maykowski, Donna Fraternity & Sorority Life 2021
Owens, Hannah Street Office of Institutional Diversity and Inclusion A
Pineda, Kayla Office of Institutional Research and Effectiveness 2021
Spencer, Judith Chief Human Resources Officer Ex-Officio A
White, Micah Student Support Services A
Williams, Lakiesha Agricultural and Biological Engineering Ex-Officio A 2019
Williams, Tiffney College of Ag & Life Sciences 2021