Standing Committees


Mississippi State faculty, staff, and students bring a wealth of talent and expertise to the university in a broad range of subjects. Collectively, the people of Mississippi State offer a valuable knowledge resource the university can draw on in making decisions on a wide array of issues and in planning for an increasingly complex future. The structure that allows this reservoir of human potential to be applied to specific problems is the university's system of standing committees and councils.

Committees deal with a wide range of issues. They give advice and counsel on computers, curricula, and facilities use. They provide an avenue for the entire university community to have a voice in the operation of the institution, and in setting its direction.

This website lists each of the standing committees and councils and their memberships. Committee assignments become effective August 1 of each year. Appointments typically are for terms of not more than three years, although successive appointments may be made. The year in which an individual's appointment to a particular committee expires is shown. Individuals whose university titles are given in lieu of an expiration date serve on that committee by virtue of their position or special expertise, and are appointed for indefinite terms.

Please provide suggestions through committee channels on how the functioning of committees at the university can be improved.

Please send updates or corrections to Jim Laird.


Radiological, Chemical, and Laboratory Safety Committee
Committee reports to: Vice President for Research and Economic Development

Administers the university's broad scope radioactive materials license. Approves users of radioactive materials, reviews and evaluates all proposed uses of radioactive materials, and oversees the Radiological Safety Office. Develops and submits policies pertaining to the use of radioactive materials consistent with applicable state and federal regulations. Serves as an advisory body to users of x-ray devices and other radiation emitting machines used on campus. Serves as an advisory body to campus researchers on chemical and other laboratory safety matters. Determines appropriate procedures or precautions consistent with relevant standards for safety issues.

Name Title / Dept. Position Elected / Appointed Term Expires
Allen, Peter Associate Professor, FWRC-Wildlife, Fisheries & Aquaculture
Brinkman, Erin Associate Clincal Professor and Service Chief, Diagnostic Imaging, CVM Clinical Sciences (Non-Voting Subject Matter Expert)
French, W. Todd Professor, Chemical Engineering
Larson, Jamie E. Associate Professor, Animal and Dairy Science Chair
Munn, Giselle T. Associate Dean and Professor, College of Arts & Sciences
Ryan, Peter L. Associate Provost for Academic Affairs and Professor, Office of the Provost
Seo, Keun Seok Assistant Professor, CVM Basic Science Department
Tseng, Paul Te-Ming Assistant Professor, Plant and Soil Sciences
Waggoner, Charles A. Research Professor and Director, Institute for Clean Energy Technology
Willard, Scott T. Associate Dean and Professor, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences