Standing Committees


Mississippi State faculty, staff, and students bring a wealth of talent and expertise to the university in a broad range of subjects. Collectively, the people of Mississippi State offer a valuable knowledge resource the university can draw on in making decisions on a wide array of issues and in planning for an increasingly complex future. The structure that allows this reservoir of human potential to be applied to specific problems is the university's system of standing committees and councils.

Committees deal with a wide range of issues. They give advice and counsel on computers, curricula, and facilities use. They provide an avenue for the entire university community to have a voice in the operation of the institution, and in setting its direction.

This website lists each of the standing committees and councils and their memberships. Committee assignments become effective August 1 of each year. Appointments typically are for terms of not more than three years, although successive appointments may be made. The year in which an individual's appointment to a particular committee expires is shown. Individuals whose university titles are given in lieu of an expiration date serve on that committee by virtue of their position or special expertise, and are appointed for indefinite terms.

Please provide suggestions through committee channels on how the functioning of committees at the university can be improved.

Please send updates or corrections to Jim Laird.


Student Publications Committee
Committee reports to: Vice President for Student Affairs

Reviews the operation of student publications. Makes broad policy for business and editorial management.

Name Title / Dept. Position Elected / Appointed Term Expires
Brooks, Raymond Assistant Dean of Students Secretary A 2020
Emerson, Mayah Student Association A 2018
Kwasny, Emma Reflector Editor A 2018
Laird, Harriet Office of Public Affairs A 2020
McDavid, Frances O. Reflector Advisor 2020
McMurray, Tyler Student Association A 2018
Pierce, Catherine English A 2020
Strout, Larry Communication Chair E 2020