Standing Committees


Mississippi State faculty, staff, and students bring a wealth of talent and expertise to the university in a broad range of subjects. Collectively, the people of Mississippi State offer a valuable knowledge resource the university can draw on in making decisions on a wide array of issues and in planning for an increasingly complex future. The structure that allows this reservoir of human potential to be applied to specific problems is the university's system of standing committees and councils.

Committees deal with a wide range of issues. They give advice and counsel on computers, curricula, and facilities use. They provide an avenue for the entire university community to have a voice in the operation of the institution, and in setting its direction.

This website lists each of the standing committees and councils and their memberships. Committee assignments become effective August 1 of each year. Appointments typically are for terms of not more than three years, although successive appointments may be made. The year in which an individual's appointment to a particular committee expires is shown. Individuals whose university titles are given in lieu of an expiration date serve on that committee by virtue of their position or special expertise, and are appointed for indefinite terms.

Please provide suggestions through committee channels on how the functioning of committees at the university can be improved.

Please send updates or corrections to Jim Laird.


Academic Review Board
Committee reports to: Provost and Executive Vice President

Conducts hearings for student grade appeals. One member of teaching faculty and one alternate elected by each college for two-year terms beginning on July 1 after election. May be re-elected. Graduate Office representative and alternate must be full members of that faculty. Three at-large representatives appointed by Provost and Executive Vice President. Student serves one year. Reports to Provost and Executive Vice President.

Name Title / Dept. Position Elected / Appointed Term Expires
Aarhus, Craig College of Education E 2019
Adams, Frank College of Business Alternate E 2019
Barbier, Kathryn College of Arts & Sciences Alternate E 2020
Bourgeois, Thomas Dean of Students Ex-Officio
Brinkman, Erin College of Veterinary Medicine Chair E 2019
Capella, Julie Student Support Services Ex-Officio
Forbes, Rasheda Multicultural Affairs/ Diversity Center Ex-Officio
Graves, Jessica College of Agriculture & Life Sciences E 2020
Gullett, Phil Bagley College of Engineering E 2020
Henry, Brien Graduate School Ex-Officio
Herrmann, Michele College of Architecture, Art & Design E 2019
Hill, Priscilla At-Large / (Bagley College of Engineering) A 2019
Jayroe, Teresa At-Large / (College of Education) A 2019
Klein, Stephen At-Large / (College of Arts & Sciences) A 2019
Lueg, Jason College of Business E 2020
Manning, Jake Student Association A 2019
Meyer, Robert College of Veterinary Medicine Alternate E 2020
Miller, Lyndsey College of Architecture, Art & Design Alternate E 2019
Robichaux-Davis, Rebecca Faculty Senate A 2019
Ross, Ryan College of Education Alternate E 2020
Rush, Scott College of Forest Resources E 2019
Schilling, Wes Graduate School E 2019
Siegert, Courtney College of Forest Resources Alternate E 2019
Sparks, Darrell College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Alternate E 2020
Sullivan, Rani Bagley College of Engineering Alternate E 2019
Walters, Kim College of Arts & Sciences E 2020