Standing Committees


Mississippi State faculty, staff, and students bring a wealth of talent and expertise to the university in a broad range of subjects. Collectively, the people of Mississippi State offer a valuable knowledge resource the university can draw on in making decisions on a wide array of issues and in planning for an increasingly complex future. The structure that allows this reservoir of human potential to be applied to specific problems is the university's system of standing committees and councils.

Committees deal with a wide range of issues. They give advice and counsel on computers, curricula, and facilities use. They provide an avenue for the entire university community to have a voice in the operation of the institution, and in setting its direction.

This website lists each of the standing committees and councils and their memberships. Committee assignments become effective August 1 of each year. Appointments typically are for terms of not more than three years, although successive appointments may be made. The year in which an individual's appointment to a particular committee expires is shown. Individuals whose university titles are given in lieu of an expiration date serve on that committee by virtue of their position or special expertise, and are appointed for indefinite terms.

Please provide suggestions through committee channels on how the functioning of committees at the university can be improved.

Please send updates or corrections to Jim Laird.


Parking and Traffic Regulation Committee
Committee reports to: Vice President for Student Affairs and the Vice President for Campus Services

Considers requests for changes to parking and traffic regulations, annual changes for parking and traffic fines and fees, and parking zone changes and zone delineation for new parking lots, reviews annually OP 95.501 Traffic and Parking Rules and Regulations; provides an annual report to the Vice President for Student Affairs and the Vice President for Campus Services on the state of university traffic and parking.

Name Title / Dept. Position Elected / Appointed Term Expires
Baker, Roger Campus Master Planner
Bourgeois, Thomas Dean of Students
Davis, George Executive Director, Campus Services
Dumas, Jeremiah Director, Parking and Transit Services Chair
Follett, Randy President, Faculty Senate
McMurray, Tyler President, Student Association
Petrie-Hanson, Lora Veterinary Medicine, Wise Center Parking Committee
Rice, Vance Chief of Police
Williams, Tiffney Staff Council