Standing Committees


Mississippi State faculty, staff, and students bring a wealth of talent and expertise to the university in a broad range of subjects. Collectively, the people of Mississippi State offer a valuable knowledge resource the university can draw on in making decisions on a wide array of issues and in planning for an increasingly complex future. The structure that allows this reservoir of human potential to be applied to specific problems is the university's system of standing committees and councils.

Committees deal with a wide range of issues. They give advice and counsel on computers, curricula, and facilities use. They provide an avenue for the entire university community to have a voice in the operation of the institution, and in setting its direction.

This website lists each of the standing committees and councils and their memberships. Committee assignments become effective August 1 of each year. Appointments typically are for terms of not more than three years, although successive appointments may be made. The year in which an individual's appointment to a particular committee expires is shown. Individuals whose university titles are given in lieu of an expiration date serve on that committee by virtue of their position or special expertise, and are appointed for indefinite terms.

Please provide suggestions through committee channels on how the functioning of committees at the university can be improved.

Please send updates or corrections to Jim Laird.


Employee Benefits Committee
Committee reports to: Provost and Executive Vice President

Initiates studies of staff benefits and solicits university-wide input improving staff benefits. Members of the committee are appointed to three-year terms by the Provost and Executive Vice President with terms beginning July 1 and ending June 30 of the appropriate year.

Name Title / Dept. Position Elected / Appointed Term Expires
Benko, Jared Athletics 2020
Bowen, Cheryl Division of Student Affairs 2020
Cook, Anne MAFES Chair 2020
Dempsey, June Office of Controller and Treasurer 2020
Easley, David Division of Development & Alumni 2020
Easley, Jennifer Sponsored Programs 2019
Heath, Susan College of Veterinary Medicine 2020
Markham, Leann Information Technology Systems 2021
Skinner, Anne Human Resources Management Ex-Officio
Spencer, Judy Human Resources Management Ex-Officio
Thomas, Kim Human Resources Management Ex-Officio
Williams, Kevin Faculty Senate 2019
Williams, Tiffney Staff Council 2019