Standing Committees


Mississippi State faculty, staff, and students bring a wealth of talent and expertise to the university in a broad range of subjects. Collectively, the people of Mississippi State offer a valuable knowledge resource the university can draw on in making decisions on a wide array of issues and in planning for an increasingly complex future. The structure that allows this reservoir of human potential to be applied to specific problems is the university's system of standing committees and councils.

Committees deal with a wide range of issues. They give advice and counsel on computers, curricula, and facilities use. They provide an avenue for the entire university community to have a voice in the operation of the institution, and in setting its direction.

This website lists each of the standing committees and councils and their memberships. Committee assignments become effective August 1 of each year. Appointments typically are for terms of not more than three years, although successive appointments may be made. The year in which an individual's appointment to a particular committee expires is shown. Individuals whose university titles are given in lieu of an expiration date serve on that committee by virtue of their position or special expertise, and are appointed for indefinite terms.

Please provide suggestions through committee channels on how the functioning of committees at the university can be improved.

Please send updates or corrections to Jim Laird.


President's Committee on Planning
Committee reports to: President

Coordinates campus-wide strategic planning activities that chart the short-term and long-term priorities for the future of the university. The campus-wide priorities and goals established by this committee will provide the framework for the development of strategic plans in all units of the university. The members of the committee are selected based on their representation of key groups on campus. This committee is led by the Provost and Executive Vice President and is advisory to the President.

Name Title / Dept. Position Elected / Appointed Term Expires
Bohach, Greg Vice President for Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine
Bonner, Judy Provost and Executive Vice President Chair
Bourgeois, Angie Dean, College of Architecture, Art and Design; Deans Council representative
Brooks, Susan Chair, Staff Council 2019
Buol, John President, Graduate Student Association 2019
Carr, Rhonda Meridian Campus
Chambers, Jan Giles Distinguished Professor
Chamblee, Tim Director, Institutional Research and Effectiveness
Coats, Linda College of Education
Coble, Keith Agricultural Economics
Cohen, John Director of Athletics
Cruse, Terry Dale Head of Campus, Meridian
Dean, Jeff Academic Department Heads Executive Committee representative
Delgado, LaDonne Libraries
Dickerson, John Assistant Vice President, Enrollment
Emerson, Mayah President, Student Association 2019
Follett, Randy Bagley College of Engineering
Forbes, Rasheda Assistant VP for Multicultural Affairs
Hyatt, Regina Vice President for Student Affairs
Jackson, Gary Director, Extension
Jones, Mary Ann Faculty Senate 2019
Lueg, Jason College of Business/Asst.VP Intern for Academic Affairs
Parrott, Steve Chief Information Officer
Rush, John Vice President for Development and Alumni
Ryan, Peter Associate Provost for Academic Affairs
Salter, Sid Chief Communications Officer and Director, Public Affairs
Seal, Susan Executive Director, Distance Education
Shaw, David Vice President for Research and Economic Development
Snyder, Chris Shackouls Honors College
Tuck, Amy Vice President, Campus Services
West, Robert English
Zant, Don Vice President for Finance and CFO
Zuckerman, Molly Anthropology/Middle Eastern Culture