Standing Committees


Mississippi State faculty, staff, and students bring a wealth of talent and expertise to the university in a broad range of subjects. Collectively, the people of Mississippi State offer a valuable knowledge resource the university can draw on in making decisions on a wide array of issues and in planning for an increasingly complex future. The structure that allows this reservoir of human potential to be applied to specific problems is the university's system of standing committees and councils.

Committees deal with a wide range of issues. They give advice and counsel on computers, curricula, and facilities use. They provide an avenue for the entire university community to have a voice in the operation of the institution, and in setting its direction.

This website lists each of the standing committees and councils and their memberships. Committee assignments become effective August 1 of each year. Appointments typically are for terms of not more than three years, although successive appointments may be made. The year in which an individual's appointment to a particular committee expires is shown. Individuals whose university titles are given in lieu of an expiration date serve on that committee by virtue of their position or special expertise, and are appointed for indefinite terms.

Please provide suggestions through committee channels on how the functioning of committees at the university can be improved.

Please send updates or corrections to Jim Laird.


President's Commission on the Status of Women
Committee reports to: President

Advises the president on issues affecting the status and role of women on campus. Sponsors appropriate studies regarding the status and role of women at the university. Sponsors informational and educational programs which serve the best interests of women and the university. Serves as an organization representing individual or group concerns of women on campus, in classroom, academic or work settings. Works with other university organizations in improving the campus climate and conditions for women. Recognizes the achievements of women through an annual awards ceremony. Publicizes information of interest to women.

Name Title / Dept. Position Elected / Appointed Term Expires
Anderson, Marlo Administrative Assistant I, Department of Psychology 2021
Baine, Amanda Staff Council 2020
Baker, Angella Administrative Assistant I, College of Business 2020
Boddie-Forbes, RaSheda Assistant Vice President for Multicultural Affairs and Director, Holmes Cultural Diversity Center 2019
Brooks, Cecilia Graduate Student 2019
Butler, Lateshia Compliance Specialist, Office of Compliance and Integrity 2019
Cohen, Nelle Community Representative Treasurer 2020
Dumke, Rachel Undergraduate Student 2019
Gregory, Alexis Immediate Past Chair and Associate Professor, School of Architecture 2019
Harvey, Brett Director, Title IX and Equal Employment Opportunity Programs 2019
Jackson, Christine Associate Athletic Director/Executive Director of Athletic Academics Chair 2020
Jones, Mary Ann Faculty Senate 2021
Keenum, Rhonda Honorary Member Ex-Officio
Kelly, Carmen Administrative Assistant I, Office of Research and Economic Development 2021
Lee, Sarah Associate Clinical Professor, Computer Science and Engineering 2019
McClellan, Kate Assistant Professor, Anthropology and Middle Eastern Cultures 2020
Middleton, Judy Project Coordinator, Research and Curriculum Unit 2020
Perkins-Smith, Jessica Assistant Professor, General Library 2021
Pulliam, Mashala Staff Council 2020
Pylate, Leah Director, Health Education and Wellness Secretary 2020
Reed, Blair Grants and Contracts Administrator, Office of Sponsored Projects 2020
Seal, Susan Executive Director, Center for Distance Education 2020
Walters, Kim Instructor, Mathematics and Statistics 2021
Wylie, Danielle Gender Studies Representative 2020