Standing Committees


Mississippi State faculty, staff, and students bring a wealth of talent and expertise to the university in a broad range of subjects. Collectively, the people of Mississippi State offer a valuable knowledge resource the university can draw on in making decisions on a wide array of issues and in planning for an increasingly complex future. The structure that allows this reservoir of human potential to be applied to specific problems is the university's system of standing committees and councils.

Committees deal with a wide range of issues. They give advice and counsel on computers, curricula, and facilities use. They provide an avenue for the entire university community to have a voice in the operation of the institution, and in setting its direction.

This website lists each of the standing committees and councils and their memberships. Committee assignments become effective August 1 of each year. Appointments typically are for terms of not more than three years, although successive appointments may be made. The year in which an individual's appointment to a particular committee expires is shown. Individuals whose university titles are given in lieu of an expiration date serve on that committee by virtue of their position or special expertise, and are appointed for indefinite terms.

Please provide suggestions through committee channels on how the functioning of committees at the university can be improved.

Please send updates or corrections to Jim Laird.


Research and Technology Advisory Council
Committee reports to: Vice President for Research and Economic Development

The Research and Technology Advisory Council provides advisory services and assist in the formation of strategic direction to the Vice President for Research and Economic Development on a wide variety of topics that directly affect the overall research productivity of the institution and its economic development role.

Name Title / Dept. Position Elected / Appointed Term Expires
Bowlds, Ted U.S. Air Force (Retired)
Brown, Brian Naval Meteorology and Oceanography Command
Christensen, Brent Mississippi Development Authority
Eppert, Herb Naval Research Laboratory, Marine Research Laboratory
Fisackerly, Haley Entergy
Gilbrech, Richard Stennis Space Center
Hairston, John Hancock Holding Company
Holland, Jeff U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
Latham, David Butler Snow Advisory
McDuffie, Ernest National Initiative for Cybersecurity Education, U.S. Department of Commerce, National Institute of Standards and Technology
Mills, Richard, Jr. Tellus Operating, LLC
Reece, John Take Supply Chain
Sundbeck, Milton Southern Ionics, Inc.
Wilson, Blake Mississippi Economic Council