Standing Committees


Mississippi State faculty, staff, and students bring a wealth of talent and expertise to the university in a broad range of subjects. Collectively, the people of Mississippi State offer a valuable knowledge resource the university can draw on in making decisions on a wide array of issues and in planning for an increasingly complex future. The structure that allows this reservoir of human potential to be applied to specific problems is the university's system of standing committees and councils.

Committees deal with a wide range of issues. They give advice and counsel on computers, curricula, and facilities use. They provide an avenue for the entire university community to have a voice in the operation of the institution, and in setting its direction.

This website lists each of the standing committees and councils and their memberships. Committee assignments become effective August 1 of each year. Appointments typically are for terms of not more than three years, although successive appointments may be made. The year in which an individual's appointment to a particular committee expires is shown. Individuals whose university titles are given in lieu of an expiration date serve on that committee by virtue of their position or special expertise, and are appointed for indefinite terms.

Please provide suggestions through committee channels on how the functioning of committees at the university can be improved.

Please send updates or corrections to Jim Laird.


Community Engagement Committee
Committee reports to: Provost and Executive Vice President

Coordinates the advancement of community engagement, service-learning, and outreach activities on-campus, within the region, and beyond. Elected members serve a three-year term. Reports to the Provost and Executive Vice President.

Name Title / Dept. Position Elected / Appointed Term Expires
., . International Student Advisory Board Ex-Officio A
Abercrumbie, J.P. Athletics Ex-Officio A
Adkerson, Amy Office of the Registrar Ex-Officio A
Ambinakudige, Shrindhi College of Arts & Sciences E 2021
Bogue, Patty Ann Department of Management & Information Systems
Breen, Dallas Stennis Institute Ex-Officio A
Buol, John Graduate Student Association Ex-Officio A 2019
Chamblee, Tim Assistant Vice President and Director, Institutional Research & Effectiveness Ex-Officio A
Cistrunk, Kenya College of Arts & Sciences E 2021
Damm, Robert College of Education E 2020
Downey, Laura Extension E 2019
Franks, Meggan Division of Student Affairs Ex-Officio A
Gammill, Teresa Office of Research and Economic Development Ex-Officio A
Garraway, Michelle Center for Community- Engaged Learning Ex-Officio A
Gines, Jacob "Jake" College of Architecture, Art & Design E 2020
Goldberg, Rebecca College of Education E 2019
Gordon, Jason College of Forest Resources E 2020
Graves, Jessica College of Agriculture & Life Sciences E 2021
Hill, Shauncey Staff Council Ex-Officio A 2019
Huston, Carla College of Veterinary Medicine E 2021
Jones, Mary Ann Faculty Senate A 2019
Laird, Jim Office of the President Ex-Officio A
Lueg, Jason College of Business E 2019
Martin, Steve Extension E 2021
Peyton, Gail Library Ex-Officio A
Powney, Suzanne College of Architecture, Art & Design E 2019
Richardson, Michael Alumni Ex-Officio A
Ryan, Peter Associate Provost of Academic Affairs Co-Chair A
Sexton, Julie Extension Ex-Officio A
Shanahan, Kevin College of Business E 2020
Simpson, LaShan Bagley College of Engineering E 2021
Smith, Becky Extension Ex-Officio A
Smith, Cade Student Leadership and Community Engagement Chair A
Stegall, DeMarus Student Association Ex-Officio A 2019
Strawderman, Lesley Bagley College of Engineering E 2019
Stringfellow, Terence Division of Campus Services Ex-Officio A
Tagert, Mary Love College of Agriculture & Life Sciences E 2021
Tegt, Jessica College of Forest Resources E 2020
Woodruff, Kimberly College of Veterinary Medicine E 2020