Standing Committees


Mississippi State faculty, staff, and students bring a wealth of talent and expertise to the university in a broad range of subjects. Collectively, the people of Mississippi State offer a valuable knowledge resource the university can draw on in making decisions on a wide array of issues and in planning for an increasingly complex future. The structure that allows this reservoir of human potential to be applied to specific problems is the university's system of standing committees and councils.

Committees deal with a wide range of issues. They give advice and counsel on computers, curricula, and facilities use. They provide an avenue for the entire university community to have a voice in the operation of the institution, and in setting its direction.

This website lists each of the standing committees and councils and their memberships. Committee assignments become effective August 1 of each year. Appointments typically are for terms of not more than three years, although successive appointments may be made. The year in which an individual's appointment to a particular committee expires is shown. Individuals whose university titles are given in lieu of an expiration date serve on that committee by virtue of their position or special expertise, and are appointed for indefinite terms.

Please provide suggestions through committee channels on how the functioning of committees at the university can be improved.

Please send updates or corrections to Jim Laird.


Master Plan Development and Advisory Committee
Committee reports to: President

The purpose of the Master Plan Development and Advisory Committee will be to review planning and site development activities across all MSU campuses and locations, in addition to working on the continued administration, maintenance, and implementation of the master plan. The Master Plan Development and Advisory Committee will be chaired by the Provost and Executive Vice President and will report to the President.

Name Title / Dept. Position Elected / Appointed Term Expires
Artunc, Sadik Landscape Architecture (non-voting) A
Bailey, Hart Chair, Monuments & Memorials Subcommittee A
Baker, Roger Associate Director Planning, Design & Space Management (non-voting) A
Bohach, Greg Vice President, Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine A
Bonner, Judy Provost and Executive Vice President Chair A
Bourgeois, Angi Dean, College of Architecture, Art and Design A
Brenner, Devon Assistant to the Vice President for Research and Economic Development A
Brooks, Susan Staff Council A 2019
Capella, Julie Student Support Services (non-voting) A
Chamblee, Tim Chair, DRC Subcommittee A
Cohen, John Director of Athletics A
Davis, George Executive Director, Campus Services A
Dumas, Jeremiah Director, Parking, Transit and Sustainability (non-voting) A
Dunne, Jim Associate Vice President, Academic Affairs A
Easley, David Division of Development and Alumni A
Emerson, Mayah Student Association, President A 2019
Follett, Randy Faculty Senate, President A 2019
Hyatt, Regina Vice President, Division of Student Affairs A
Jones, Mary Ann Faculty Senate, Vice President A 2019
Jones, Michelle Department of Archives & History (non-voting) A
Lucas, Joan General Counsel A
Muzzi, Tim Director, Office of Planning, Design and Construction Administration A
Ryan, Peter Associate Provost A
Sankovich, Dennis MSU-Meridian (non-voting) A
Toney, Jerry Division of Development and Alumni A
Townsend, Jason Staff Council A 2019
Truax, Dennis Professor and Head, Civil and Environmental Engineering (non-voting) A
Tuck, Amy Vice President, Campus Services and Office of the President A
Zant, Don Vice President for Finance and CFO A