Standing Committees


Mississippi State faculty, staff, and students bring a wealth of talent and expertise to the university in a broad range of subjects. Collectively, the people of Mississippi State offer a valuable knowledge resource the university can draw on in making decisions on a wide array of issues and in planning for an increasingly complex future. The structure that allows this reservoir of human potential to be applied to specific problems is the university's system of standing committees and councils.

Committees deal with a wide range of issues. They give advice and counsel on computers, curricula, and facilities use. They provide an avenue for the entire university community to have a voice in the operation of the institution, and in setting its direction.

This website lists each of the standing committees and councils and their memberships. Committee assignments become effective August 1 of each year. Appointments typically are for terms of not more than three years, although successive appointments may be made. The year in which an individual's appointment to a particular committee expires is shown. Individuals whose university titles are given in lieu of an expiration date serve on that committee by virtue of their position or special expertise, and are appointed for indefinite terms.

Please provide suggestions through committee channels on how the functioning of committees at the university can be improved.

Please send updates or corrections to Jim Laird.


Sustainability Committee
Committee reports to: Vice President for Campus Services

The Sustainability Committee recommends practices for and promotes sustainable facility development and operations, grounds development and maintenance, materials procurement and disposal, and transportation.

Name Title / Dept. Position Elected / Appointed Term Expires
Baker, Roger Interim Associate Director of Planning, Design and Space Management
Berk, Michael Director, School of Architecture
Buffum, Don Director of Procurement and Contracts
Cagle, Scott Staff Council
Dickerson, John Registrar
Dumas, Jeremiah Director of Parking, Transit & Sustainability Co-Chair
Fountain, Brent Faculty Senate President
Hardy, J.D. Associate DIrector of Engineering Services - PDCA
Hodges, Julia Executive Associate Vice President
Howell, David MAFES Engineer
Jolly, Brandon Associate General Counsel
McGlohn, Emily School of Architecture
McMurray, Tyler President, Student Association
Muzzi, Tim Director, Planning, Design & Construction - University Architect
Prather, Bart Associate Director Campus Landscape
Rogers, Anna Claire Students for a Sustainable Campus
Tomlinson, Bobby Representative for Athletic Director
Tuck, Amy Vice President for Campus Services Chair
Zant, Don Vice President for Budget and Planning