Standing Committees


Mississippi State faculty, staff, and students bring a wealth of talent and expertise to the university in a broad range of subjects. Collectively, the people of Mississippi State offer a valuable knowledge resource the university can draw on in making decisions on a wide array of issues and in planning for an increasingly complex future. The structure that allows this reservoir of human potential to be applied to specific problems is the university's system of standing committees and councils.

Committees deal with a wide range of issues. They give advice and counsel on computers, curricula, and facilities use. They provide an avenue for the entire university community to have a voice in the operation of the institution, and in setting its direction.

This website lists each of the standing committees and councils and their memberships. Committee assignments become effective August 1 of each year. Appointments typically are for terms of not more than three years, although successive appointments may be made. The year in which an individual's appointment to a particular committee expires is shown. Individuals whose university titles are given in lieu of an expiration date serve on that committee by virtue of their position or special expertise, and are appointed for indefinite terms.

Please provide suggestions through committee channels on how the functioning of committees at the university can be improved.

Please send updates or corrections to Jim Laird.


Faculty Senate (2016-17)
Committee reports to: President

Makes recommendations to the President on matters pertaining to the welfare of the university.

Name Title / Dept. Position Elected / Appointed Term Expires
Addy, Noel Business 2016
Baldwin, Brian CALS-MAFES 2017
Barefield, Alan Extension Service 2018
Bennett, Stephanie Education 2018
Boyd, Robert Arts and Sciences 2017
Brashier, Michael Veterinary Medicine 2017
Burt, Joey Veterinary Medicine 2018
Carskadon, Thomas Arts and Sciences 2018
Clary, Renee Arts and Sciences 2018
Cook, Cecelia Business 2018
Coyne, Cody Veterinary Medicine Chair 2017
Crenshaw, Mark Extension Service 2017
Davis, Brian Forest Resources 2018
Dodds, Darrin CALS-MAFES 2018
Du, Jenny Engineering 2018
Dutta, Dipangkar Arts and Sciences 2018
Elder, Anastasia Education 2017
Follett, Randy Engineering 2018
Fountain, Brent Extension Service Vice Chair 2017
Freyne, Seamus Engineering 2018
Grace, Laura Forest Resources 2016
Harvey, Ben Architecure, Art and Design 2017
Haupt, Jeffrey Architecture, Art and Design 2017
Haynes, Stacy Arts and Sciences 2017
Herd, Wendy Arts and Sciences 2016
Jones, Mary Ann Library 2017
Kelly, Lelia Extension Service 2017
Kiess, Aaron CALS-MAFES 2017
Krishnan, Sundar Engineering 2018
Larson, Jamie CALS-MAFES 2017
Lathan, Patty Veterinary Medicine 2018
Lemus, Rocky CALS-MAFES 2017
Marett, Kent Business Secretary 2018
Marsh, Kelly Arts and Sciences 2017
Musser, Fred CALS-MAFES 2018
Noel, Addy Business 2018
Potter, Edward Arts and Sciences 2016
Prince, Debra Education 2018
Randle, Natasha Meridian 2018
Ratliff, Lindon Meridian 2018
Ridner, Judy Arts and Sciences 2017
Sebba, Rosangela Education 2018
Sherman-Morris, Kathy Arts and Sciences 2018
Sobaskie, James Education 2018
Spain, Andrea Arts and Sciences 2017
Strawderman, Lesley Engineering 2017
Thompson, Robert Arts and Sciences 2017
Williams, Byron Engineering 2018
Williams, Kevin Arts and Sciences 2016
Wilmoth, Joe CALS-MAFES 2017
Wipf, David Arts and Sciences 2017