Standing Committees


Mississippi State faculty, staff, and students bring a wealth of talent and expertise to the university in a broad range of subjects. Collectively, the people of Mississippi State offer a valuable knowledge resource the university can draw on in making decisions on a wide array of issues and in planning for an increasingly complex future. The structure that allows this reservoir of human potential to be applied to specific problems is the university's system of standing committees and councils.

Committees deal with a wide range of issues. They give advice and counsel on computers, curricula, and facilities use. They provide an avenue for the entire university community to have a voice in the operation of the institution, and in setting its direction.

This website lists each of the standing committees and councils and their memberships. Committee assignments become effective August 1 of each year. Appointments typically are for terms of not more than three years, although successive appointments may be made. The year in which an individual's appointment to a particular committee expires is shown. Individuals whose university titles are given in lieu of an expiration date serve on that committee by virtue of their position or special expertise, and are appointed for indefinite terms.

Please provide suggestions through committee channels on how the functioning of committees at the university can be improved.

Please send updates or corrections to Jim Laird.


Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee
Committee reports to: Vice President for Research and Economic Development

Establishes and oversees standards and procedures related to animal care and use. Advises individuals and agencies dealing with animals. Fulfills those duties assigned to Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee in the PHS Policy on Humane Care and Use of Laboratory Animals and laboratory animal welfare acts.

Name Title / Dept. Position Elected / Appointed Term Expires
Ayers, Chris Instructor, Wildlife and Fisheries 2021
Banda, Alejandro Clinical Professor, College of Veterinary Medicine 2021
Burger, Loren "Wes" Associate Dean & Professor, Forest & Wildlife Research Center 2020
Butler, James "Ryan" Associate Professor, College of Veterinary Medicine 2021
Christiansen, David Clinical Professor, College of Veterinary Medicine 2021
Forbus, Jack Community Representative 2019
Guyton, Mark Community Representative (Non-Scientist) 2019
Henderson, Elizabeth Ann Community Representative 2020
Herndon, Cary "Bill" Professor Emeritus, General Member 2020
Kiess, Aaron Assistant Professor, Poultry Science Vice Chair 2019
Mischke, Chuck Research Professor, Delta Research and Extension Center 2021
Peacock, Trent Biosafety Officer Alternate
Rude, Brian J. Associate Professor, Animal and Dairy Science Chair 2019
Senter, Lucy University Laboratory Animal Veterinarian
Smith, Trent Assistant Professor, Animal and Dairy Science 2019
Strickland, Kacey Director, Regulatory Compliance
Swanson, Elizabeth Associate Professor, College of Veterinary Medicine Alternate 2021
Thornton, Justin Associate Professor, Biological Sciences 2020
Varela-Stokes, Andrea Associate Professor, College of Veterinary Medicine 2019
Willeford, Bridget Clinical Research Veterinarian, College of Veterinary Medicine Alternate