Standing Committees


Mississippi State faculty, staff, and students bring a wealth of talent and expertise to the university in a broad range of subjects. Collectively, the people of Mississippi State offer a valuable knowledge resource the university can draw on in making decisions on a wide array of issues and in planning for an increasingly complex future. The structure that allows this reservoir of human potential to be applied to specific problems is the university's system of standing committees and councils.

Committees deal with a wide range of issues. They give advice and counsel on computers, curricula, and facilities use. They provide an avenue for the entire university community to have a voice in the operation of the institution, and in setting its direction.

This website lists each of the standing committees and councils and their memberships. Committee assignments become effective August 1 of each year. Appointments typically are for terms of not more than three years, although successive appointments may be made. The year in which an individual's appointment to a particular committee expires is shown. Individuals whose university titles are given in lieu of an expiration date serve on that committee by virtue of their position or special expertise, and are appointed for indefinite terms.

Please provide suggestions through committee channels on how the functioning of committees at the university can be improved.

Please send updates or corrections to Jim Laird.


Performing Arts Committee
Committee reports to: Vice President for Student Affairs

Develops programming for annual Lyceum series, with input from faculty, staff, and students.

Name Title / Dept. Position Elected / Appointed Term Expires
Baker, Jazmyn Terpsichore President A 2018
Bradford, Joy Holmes Cultural Diversity Center A 2019
Bush, Taylor Lab Rats President A 2018
Clevinger, Donna Shackouls Honors College A 2018
Cunetto, Stephen MSU Libraries/Starkville Community Theatre Chair A 2018
Duren, Asia Graduate Assistant, Center for Student Activities A 2019
Funderburk, Deborah Kinesiology/Dance A 2018
Gipson, Claire Art A 2019
Hill, Brad Assistant Director for Student Activities A 2020
Horton, Madison Music Maker Productions A 2018
Laird, Harriet Office of Public Affairs A 2018
McMurray, Tyler Student Association President A 2018
Mullen, Jackie Center for Student Activities A 2020
Packwood, Gary Director of Choral Activities A 2018
Parker, Suzanne Staff Council A 2019
Rowell, Austin Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia President A 2018
Stockstill, Cody Communication A 2019
Vaughan, Lindey Blitz! Show Choir President A 2018