Standing Committees


Mississippi State faculty, staff, and students bring a wealth of talent and expertise to the university in a broad range of subjects. Collectively, the people of Mississippi State offer a valuable knowledge resource the university can draw on in making decisions on a wide array of issues and in planning for an increasingly complex future. The structure that allows this reservoir of human potential to be applied to specific problems is the university's system of standing committees and councils.

Committees deal with a wide range of issues. They give advice and counsel on computers, curricula, and facilities use. They provide an avenue for the entire university community to have a voice in the operation of the institution, and in setting its direction.

This website lists each of the standing committees and councils and their memberships. Committee assignments become effective August 1 of each year. Appointments typically are for terms of not more than three years, although successive appointments may be made. The year in which an individual's appointment to a particular committee expires is shown. Individuals whose university titles are given in lieu of an expiration date serve on that committee by virtue of their position or special expertise, and are appointed for indefinite terms.

Please provide suggestions through committee channels on how the functioning of committees at the university can be improved.

Please send updates or corrections to Jim Laird.


Organizations Committee
Committee reports to: Vice President for Student Affairs

Makes recommendations concerning proposed new organizations. Makes recommendations for regulations governing organizations.

Name Title / Dept. Position Elected / Appointed Term Expires
Bloom, Kenzie Area Coordinator, Housing and Residence Life A 2019
Bradford, Joy Program Coordinator, Holmes Cultural Diversity Center A 2019
Frederick, Aleaha Student A 2019
Hawkins, Christopher Coordinator, Center for Student Activities Secretary A 2019
Knecht, Steven Competitive Sports Coordinator, Sanderson Center A 2019
Mullen, Jackie Director, Center for Student Activities Chair A 2019
Mullen, Tabor Associate Dean of Students A 2019
Reese, Mary Celeste Assistant Clinical Professor, Biological Sciences A 2019
Stevenson, Ella Student A 2019