Standing Committees


Mississippi State faculty, staff, and students bring a wealth of talent and expertise to the university in a broad range of subjects. Collectively, the people of Mississippi State offer a valuable knowledge resource the university can draw on in making decisions on a wide array of issues and in planning for an increasingly complex future. The structure that allows this reservoir of human potential to be applied to specific problems is the university's system of standing committees and councils.

Committees deal with a wide range of issues. They give advice and counsel on computers, curricula, and facilities use. They provide an avenue for the entire university community to have a voice in the operation of the institution, and in setting its direction.

This website lists each of the standing committees and councils and their memberships. Committee assignments become effective August 1 of each year. Appointments typically are for terms of not more than three years, although successive appointments may be made. The year in which an individual's appointment to a particular committee expires is shown. Individuals whose university titles are given in lieu of an expiration date serve on that committee by virtue of their position or special expertise, and are appointed for indefinite terms.

Please provide suggestions through committee channels on how the functioning of committees at the university can be improved.

Please send updates or corrections to Jim Laird.


Staff Council
Committee reports to: President

Enhances communication between the professional and support staff and university administration; provides a forum for staff to discuss their role in the total university system; advises university administration in matters relating to professional and support staff before the implementation of new policies, procedures, and programs; recommends changes in existing policies as needed; and serves as a resource through which staff employees may be nominated to serve on university committees.

Name Title / Dept. Position Elected / Appointed Term Expires
Adkerson, Amy Office of the Registrar
Andrews, Heather MSU Foundation
Ashmore, Zac Agricultural Communications
Brooks, Susan Office of the Provost Chair
Bush, Charlie Extension Service - Simpson County
Cagle, Scott Extension Service - Chickasaw County
Davis, Midge Athletics
Davis, Stacy Office of the Controller and Treasurer
Easley, Darrell Human Resources Management
Forrester, Kylie Office of Admission & Scholarships
Gibson, Tamara ITS User Services
Graves, Kenneth Animal & Dairy Science
Green, Stephen Human Resources Management
Gregory, Nathan Agricultural Communications
Herndon, Crisler Travel
High, Jan Research Support MAFES/FWRC
Hill, Shauncey International Institute
Parker, Suzanne Division of Business, MSU-Meridian
Pulliam, Chris PDCA-Planning, Design and Construction Administration
Pulliam, Mashala HPC2
Roberson, Toni CVM Basic Science Department
Roby, Yvett Student Counseling Services
Stewart, Leigh Office of the President Secretary
Thornton, Jessica Housing and Residence Life
Townsend, Jason Sanderson Center Vice Chair
Vanhorn, Avent Office of Admissions and Scholarships
White, Ronnie Transit Services
Williams, Tiffney College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
Zimmerman, Sykes Office of the Dean, College of Veterinary Medicine