Standing Committees


Mississippi State faculty, staff, and students bring a wealth of talent and expertise to the university in a broad range of subjects. Collectively, the people of Mississippi State offer a valuable knowledge resource the university can draw on in making decisions on a wide array of issues and in planning for an increasingly complex future. The structure that allows this reservoir of human potential to be applied to specific problems is the university's system of standing committees and councils.

Committees deal with a wide range of issues. They give advice and counsel on computers, curricula, and facilities use. They provide an avenue for the entire university community to have a voice in the operation of the institution, and in setting its direction.

This website lists each of the standing committees and councils and their memberships. Committee assignments become effective August 1 of each year. Appointments typically are for terms of not more than three years, although successive appointments may be made. The year in which an individual's appointment to a particular committee expires is shown. Individuals whose university titles are given in lieu of an expiration date serve on that committee by virtue of their position or special expertise, and are appointed for indefinite terms.

Please provide suggestions through committee channels on how the functioning of committees at the university can be improved.

Please send updates or corrections to Jim Laird.


Special Events and Game Day Operations
Committee reports to: Vice President for Campus Services

The committee plans, coordinates and directs special events, including external (outside the stadium) game day operations.

Name Title / Dept. Position Elected / Appointed Term Expires
Bourgeois, Thomas Division of Student Affairs
Buffum, Don Division of Budget and Planning
Collier, Vanessa Event Services Ex-Officio
Davis, George Division of Campus Services
Dumas, Jeremiah Director of Parking, Transit and Sustainability Ex-Officio
Fountain, Brent Faculty Senate
Graves, Kenneth Staff Council
Hodges, Julia Division of Academic Affairs
Logan, Jay Associate Athletic Director for Events and Facilities (Non-voting advisor)
McMurray, Tyler Student Association
Potts, Les Budget & Planning Ex-Officio
Prather, Bart Landscape Ex-Officio
Rice, Vance Police
Richardson, Michael Alumni Association
Salter, SId Office of Public Affairs
Steward, Kyle President's Office
Tomlinson, Bobby Athletics
Tuck, Amy Vice President for Campus Services Chair