Standing Committees


Mississippi State faculty, staff, and students bring a wealth of talent and expertise to the university in a broad range of subjects. Collectively, the people of Mississippi State offer a valuable knowledge resource the university can draw on in making decisions on a wide array of issues and in planning for an increasingly complex future. The structure that allows this reservoir of human potential to be applied to specific problems is the university's system of standing committees and councils.

Committees deal with a wide range of issues. They give advice and counsel on computers, curricula, and facilities use. They provide an avenue for the entire university community to have a voice in the operation of the institution, and in setting its direction.

This website lists each of the standing committees and councils and their memberships. Committee assignments become effective August 1 of each year. Appointments typically are for terms of not more than three years, although successive appointments may be made. The year in which an individual's appointment to a particular committee expires is shown. Individuals whose university titles are given in lieu of an expiration date serve on that committee by virtue of their position or special expertise, and are appointed for indefinite terms.

Please provide suggestions through committee channels on how the functioning of committees at the university can be improved.

Please send updates or corrections to Jim Laird.


Diversity Council
Committee reports to: Provost and Executive Vice President

The purpose of the committee is to promote diversity in all aspects of the university and to coordinate efforts with initiatives that may be developed by the Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning.

Name Title / Dept. Position Elected / Appointed Term Expires
Andrews, Libba Division of Development and Alumni
Boddie-Forbes, RaSheda Presidents Commission on the Status of Minorities
Boddie-Forbes, Rasheda Assistant VP, Multicultural Affair/Director of Holmes Cultural Diversity Center Chair
Buffum, Don Division of Budget and Planning
Carr, Ann Division of Athletics
Delgado, LaDonne Professor, General Library
Follett, Randy President, Faculty Senate 2019
Gammill, Teresa Division of Research and Economic Development
Hill, Shauncey Staff Council
Hyatt, Regina Vice President of Student Affairs
Jackson, Nicole Academic Records Assistant
McRae, Kenneth Center for Americas Veterans
Middleton, Stephen African American Studies Program
Owens, Hannah Office of Institutional Diversity & Inclusion
Pearson, Rodney Professor, Management & Information Systems
Ryalls, Emily Assistant Professor, Communications
Ryan, Peter Office of the Provost and Executive Vice President
Salter, Sid Office of Public Affairs
Sanders, NaToya Presidents Commission on the Status of Women
Spencer, Judy Human Resources Management
Stegall, Demarus Student Association 2019
Swindell, Marian MSU-Meridian
Verdell, Angela Bagley College of Engineering Diversity Programs
Waller, Angie Division of Campus Services