Standing Committees


Mississippi State faculty, staff, and students bring a wealth of talent and expertise to the university in a broad range of subjects. Collectively, the people of Mississippi State offer a valuable knowledge resource the university can draw on in making decisions on a wide array of issues and in planning for an increasingly complex future. The structure that allows this reservoir of human potential to be applied to specific problems is the university's system of standing committees and councils.

Committees deal with a wide range of issues. They give advice and counsel on computers, curricula, and facilities use. They provide an avenue for the entire university community to have a voice in the operation of the institution, and in setting its direction.

This website lists each of the standing committees and councils and their memberships. Committee assignments become effective August 1 of each year. Appointments typically are for terms of not more than three years, although successive appointments may be made. The year in which an individual's appointment to a particular committee expires is shown. Individuals whose university titles are given in lieu of an expiration date serve on that committee by virtue of their position or special expertise, and are appointed for indefinite terms.

Please provide suggestions through committee channels on how the functioning of committees at the university can be improved.

Please send updates or corrections to Jim Laird.


Information Technology Council
Committee reports to: Provost and Executive Vice President

The Information Technology Council recommends strategies and policies aimed at ensuring a unified, state-of-the-art information technology environment delivered in a secure, efficient, effective, and non-duplicative manner. It also provides oversight and coordination for data and information security matters, including the university’s Information Security Program, Incident Response Plan, and IT Disaster Recovery Plan, as prescribed by MSU’s Information Security Policy, OP 01.10. The Information Technology Council is chaired by the Chief Information Officer and reports to the Provost and Executive Vice President.

Name Title / Dept. Position Elected / Appointed Term Expires
Bourgeois, Angi Dean, College of Architecture, Art and Design
Bourgeois, Thomas Dean of Students
Brooks, Susan Chair of Staff Council
Brown, Vickie Executive Director of Information Services
Chamblee, Timothy Asst VP and Director, Institutional Research and Effectiveness
Davis, George Executive Director of Campus Services
Dickerson, John Registrar
Dunne, Jim Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs
Edelblute, Kevin Controller and Treasurer
Ervin, Lesia Director of Internal Audit
Follett, Randy President of Faculty Senate 2019
Graves, Joy University Compliance Officer
Hamilton, Drew Office of Research
Loper, Randy Head of Extension Center for Technology Outreach
Lucas, Joan General Counsel
Manning, Jake Student Association A 2019
Parrott, Steve Interim Chief Information Officer Chair
Richey, Mike Senior Associate A.D./Bulldog Club, Ticket Operations
Salter, Sid Chief Communications Officer
Spencer, Judy Chief Human Resources Officer
Willard, Scott Associate Dean, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences