Franklin Co. student at MSU named Celia Moh Scholar

Contact: Sasha Steinberg

Hannah Monroe (Photo by Russ Houston)

STARKVILLE, Miss.—A Mississippi State interior design major from Franklin County is one of only five U.S. undergraduates selected to receive the highly coveted Celia Moh Scholarship for the upcoming academic year.

Given by the Lexington, North Carolina-based Celia Moh Scholarship Foundation, the prestigious award will cover full tuition, room, board, books and fees for senior Hannah E. Monroe of Meadville during the fall 2017 and spring 2018 semesters.

Established in 2001 by furniture industry entrepreneur Laurence Moh in his wife’s honor, the scholarship is considered among the most prestigious honors for U.S. undergraduates planning careers in the industry. For more, see

Candidates for the honor must be enrolled full time in interior design, furniture products or other approved academic programs, and have completed an extensive questionnaire and personal essay. Faculty recommendations and demonstrated superior academic achievements also are criteria for evaluation.

Monroe is a member of MSU’s Montgomery Leadership Program and the Judy and Bobby Shackouls Honors College, as well as Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society.

MSU’s Franklin Furniture Institute manages the university’s Celia Moh Scholarship awards program, including the application process. For complete information, contact institute director Bill Martin at 662-325-3348 or

Accredited by The Council for Interior Design Accreditation and National Association of Schools of Art and Design, MSU’s interior design program provides students with a broad background in interior elements, materials, sources and practical experience in the business of interior design.

Learn more about the College of Architecture, Art and Design and its interior design program at

MSU is Mississippi’s leading university, available online at

Monday, May 1, 2017 - 2:27 pm