MSU Faculty Senate unanimously passes resolution commending university leadership during historic, challenging semester

STARKVILLE, Miss.—After perhaps the most challenging and difficult semester in the history of the institution, the Mississippi State University Robert Holland Faculty Senate on Nov. 13 offered the following unanimous resolution:

“The Faculty Senate extends its deep and sincere gratitude and appreciation to President (Mark) Keenum, Provost (David) Shaw, Vice President for Student Affairs (Regina) Hyatt, Executive Director of University Health Services (Cliff) Story, M.D., and the entire MSU leadership team for their exemplary transparency and cooperation, their tenacity and flexibility, and their courage and grace in dealing with the COVID-19 pandemic so as to minimize medical danger and consequences for faculty, staff, and students alike, and to successfully continue the educational, research, and service missions of the university during this unprecedented crisis. Senate likewise expresses its deep and sincere gratitude and appreciation to all MSU staff for their resolute and unfailing service during this time. Finally, the Faculty Senate recognizes and thanks all MSU students for their patience, sacrifice, and adaptability in pursuing their studies under highly unusual and trying circumstances, and we applaud all faculty for their extraordinary efforts and dedication to this end.”   

The Robert Holland Faculty Senate at Mississippi State University functions as a channel of communications between the faculty and the President. The Faculty Senate advises the President on matters referred to it. Members of the faculty are always welcome, though they may speak in the meeting only by a vote of the Senate. Senators are elected by their colleagues to serve a three-year term.

MSU is Mississippi’s leading university, available online at