MSU Alumni Association announces Alumni Delegates for 2021-22

Contact: Addie Mayfield

STARKVILLE, Miss.—Fifty-three Mississippi State students are 2021-22 members of the university alumni association’s liaison organization.

Founded in 1980, Alumni Delegates serve as key links between the 143-year-old land-grant institution and its more than 155,000 living graduates. Helping improve the student body’s understanding of the alumni association’s role and purpose also is among their major goals.

Over the decades, the volunteer group has assisted with organizational programs and activities, including football tailgate gatherings, class reunions, free in-state tuition drawings, and numerous other on- and off-campus events.

Members are selected each year through a highly competitive interview process. This year’s group, consisting of 27 returning and 26 new members, was chosen from over 345 applicants.

The 2021-2022 Alumni Delegates include (by hometown):

BAYTOWN, Texas—Gabriella Ybarra, a sophomore special education major.

BERKELEY, Illinois—Brian Carmicheal, a senior mechanical engineering major.

BIRMINGHAM, Alabama—Sophie Jones, a junior biomedical engineering major.

BRANDON—John “Matthew” Drennan, a junior biochemistry major; Mary Allyn Kirby, a senior special education major; Alexia Nicks, a senior psychology major; and Jayden Smith, a junior biological sciences major.

BURKE, Virginia—Peter Buschman, a senior kinesiology major.

BURNSVILLE—William “Will” Hardin, a senior communications major.

COLLIERVILLE, Tennessee—Dehn Basham, a junior landscape architecture major; and Logan Strietelmeier, a sophomore mechanical engineering major.

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colorado—Rohan Fisher, a senior mathematics major.

COLUMBUS—Sarah Singley, a junior political science major.

CORINTH—Caroline Sleeper, a graduate student in geosciences, professional meteorology and climatology; and Payne Sleeper, a sophomore accounting major.

DOTHAN, Alabama—Piper Doherty, a senior educational psychology major.

FLOWOOD—Lane “Laney” Armstrong, a senior educational psychology major.

FRANKLIN, Tennessee—Joy Hickman, a senior civil engineering major.

FREEPORT, Maine—Rebecca “Becca” Pierce, a junior supply chain logistics major.

FRISCO, Texas—Robert “Coleman” Taylor, a senior wildlife, fisheries, and aquaculture major.

GULPORT—Elizabeth “Ellie” Herndon, a junior finance and economics major.

HATTIESBURG—Clay Smith, a senior secondary education major.

HELENA, Alabama—Parker Cunningham, a senior marketing major.

HOUMA, Louisiana—Allison “Ally” Galinsky, a senior secondary education major.

HOOVER, Alabama—Rachel Hendricks, a graduate student in business administration. 

JACKSON—Kamryn Davis, a senior biomedical engineering major.

LOXLEY, Alabama – Andrew “Drew” Grant, a junior biological sciences major.

LUMBERTON—Daniel Bond, a senior mathematics major.

MABANK, Texas—Gracie Chavez, a graduate student in business administration. 

MADISON—Chanukya “Chanu” Cherukuri, a biological engineering major; Gabrielle “Gabby” Dear, a senior communication major; Georgia Galatas, a junior educational psychology major; Lauren James, a junior elementary education major; and Mary Seitz Young, a senior accounting major.

MANDEVILLE, Louisiana—Alysse White, a senior civil engineering major.

NESBIT—Sara Matheson, a junior biochemistry major.

NEW ALBANY—Sam Cagle, a senior biological sciences major. 

OCEAN SPRINGS—Erin Wicht, a senior food science, nutrition and health promotion major.

OLIVE BRANCH—Melodie Bell, a junior communication major.

PASCAGOULA—William “Will” Baumhauer, a junior accounting major.

PELHAM, Alabama—Grayson Dill, a junior kinesiology major.

RIVERVIEW, Florida—Donovan Andrade, a senior kinesiology and communication major.

SENATOBIA—Jaime Garcia, a senior management major.

SHREVEPORT, Louisiana—Emily Hurst, a senior English and political science major.

SOMERVILLE, Tennessee—Elizabeth Ann Orr, a graduate student in early intervention. 

SPRING GROVE, Illinois—Bailey Dean, a senior kinesiology major.

STARKVILLE—Rebekah “Bek” Carruth, a sophomore undeclared major.

TEGUCIGALPA, Honduras—Wilson Martinez Diaz, a senior aerospace engineering and political science major.

THE WOODLANDS, Texas—Cooper Hays, a senior marketing major.

TUPELO—Christopher “Alex” Rial, a senior biochemistry major; and Andrew “Drew” Wright, a graduate student in business administration. 

VERO BEACH, Florida—Morgan Minton, a junior marketing major.

VESTAVIA HILLS, Alabama—Lauren Nichols, a junior anthropology major.

VICKSBURG—Warner Buxton, a senior interdisciplinary studies major.

More about the MSU Alumni Association and the Alumni Delegates can be found at

MSU is Mississippi’s leading university, available online at

Friday, October 15, 2021 - 1:50 pm