Phi Beta Kappa chapter at Mississippi State announces newest inductees for 2022

Contact: Allison Matthews

A large group of Phi Beta Kappa inductees pose for a group photo
The Gamma of Mississippi Chapter of The Phi Beta Kappa Society inducted 48 new members during ceremonies at Mississippi State University April 18. (Photo by Megan Bean)

STARKVILLE, Miss.—The Gamma of Mississippi Chapter of The Phi Beta Kappa Society at Mississippi State University is announcing 48 inductees for 2022.

Phi Beta Kappa inductees are among the top 10 percent of their graduating class who have completed a broad range of liberal arts and sciences coursework, including foreign language study and mathematics. Honored Monday [April 18] with an induction ceremony and dinner sponsored by MSU’s Office of the Provost and Executive Vice President, the students were selected for their extraordinary academic achievement in the arts and sciences.

The Phi Beta Kappa Society was founded in 1776 and is the nation’s most prestigious academic honor society. Only 10% of U.S. colleges and universities have PBK chapters, and these chapters select only 10% of their arts and sciences graduates to join. Noteworthy members include 17 U.S. presidents, 42 U.S. Supreme Court justices and more than 150 Nobel laureates.

MSU President Mark E. Keenum speaks during the PBK induction ceremony
MSU President Mark E. Keenum celebrates new inductees during his remarks at the Gamma of Mississippi Chapter of The Phi Beta Kappa Society induction ceremony April 18. (Photo by Megan Bean)

“I want to thank our world-class faculty members who have been teachers, mentors and role models to this year’s class of Phi Beta Kappa inductees,” said MSU President Mark E. Keenum, who also noted the critical role of parents, families and friends in supporting students on their journeys to success. He said the new MSU inductees will be recognized for their Phi Beta Kappa membership for the rest of their lives. “You rose above the challenges set before you and you prevailed. You are the best of the very best,” Keenum added.

Phi Beta Kappa, Gamma of Mississippi Chapter student inductees for 2022 include (by hometown):

ALEXANDER CITY, Alabama—Ginni Gray, communication

BALDWYN—Elizabeth Howell, Spanish/marketing

BATESVILLE—Victoria Hartman, biological sciences

BATON ROUGE, Louisiana—Lauren Arceneaux, economics/political science; and Michael Bourgeois, English/history

BIRMINGHAM, Alabama—Anna Balzli, Spanish/marketing

CARY—Joseph Newell, English

CHESAPEAKE, Virginia—Shardonnay Nichols, criminology

COLUMBIA, Tennessee—Mattie Mason, anthropology

EDWARDS—Dixie Tucker, psychology

FLORENCE—Rheagan Case, English; and Laura Duncan, communication

FRANKLIN, Tennessee—Katherine Norris, criminology

HATTIESBURG—Caroline Simpson, biological sciences

HILTON HEAD, South Carolina—Sydney Stockwell, biochemistry

HOOVER, Alabama—Emily Baker, Asian studies/finance; and Eleanor Holt, psychology

JACKSON—Jennings Duncan, English/philosophy (religion concentration)

JACKSON, Tennessee—Holeh Heydari, microbiology

JONESBORO, Arkansas—Baylee Seeman, English

LAKELAND, Tennessee—Teri Jackson, Spanish/social work

MADISON—Kalli Hedgepeth, Spanish/marketing

MARIETTA, Georgia—Mitzi Roukoski, English

MARION, Alabama—Sofia Nail, biological sciences/Spanish

MCLEAN, Virginia—Ruby Titus, English/French

MEMPHIS, Tennessee—Jared Pish, psychology

MERIDIAN—Laurel Garrett, Spanish/marketing

METAIRIE, Louisiana—Grace Troutman, psychology

MONTGOMERY, Alabama—Katherine Albrecht, history

NAVARRE, Florida—Lakin Ricchuito, classics

PEACHTREE CITY, Georgia—Amanda Kronenberger, political science

PELAHATCHIE—Hailey Reeder, English/secondary education

PRATTVILLE, Alabama—Andreana Durham, psychology

PRENTISS—Virginia Daughdrill, English

RIDGELAND—Anna Cranford, psychology

RINGOES, New Jersey—Julia Clemente, communication

SALLIS—D’Mechriea Landfair, political science

SHREVEPORT, Louisiana—Emily Hurst, English/political science

STARKVILLE—Jonathan Franz, classics/history; Lily Grado, English; Anne-Marie Ross, microbiology/biochemistry; Josephine Shanahan, German/microbiology; and Jacob Wubben, political science

STEENS—Cheryl Zant, English

VICKSBURG—Jon Bantugan, microbiology; Ryan Jarratt, philosophy/political science; and Emily Phillips, political science

WEST POINT—Kathleen Elliott, philosophy (religion concentration)

MSU is Mississippi’s leading university, available online at