Mississippi State announces fall 2015 Society of Scholars class

Contact: Sasha Steinberg

MSU’s new Society of Scholars inductees include, (first row, l-r) Ashley Shook, Madison Milhoan, Mary Linda Remley, Kellie Mitchell, Sydney Duran; (second) Caitlin Henley, Patricia Sloan, Claire Winesett, Taylor Graham, Chandler Wavro, Rebecca Griffith; (third) Andrew Collins, Sydney Rodkey, Destini Smith, Emily Williams, Meredith Pearson, Tyler Smith; and (fourth) Alex Ward, Ryan Williams, Maxwell Moseley, Nicholas Lee, Malcolm Brooks, Hannibal Brooks. (Photo by Russ Houston)

STARKVILLE, Miss.—Twenty-three Mississippi State seniors are new members of the university’s prestigious Society of Scholars in the Arts and Sciences.

The honors organization recognizes top university students each semester from all majors who have demonstrated the highest standard of academic excellence while pursuing a broad exposure to courses in the arts, sciences and humanities.

Those selected for the rigorous screening process must have demonstrated a sound foundation in languages, mathematics, sciences, oral and written communication, humanities or social sciences.

In addition to Mississippi, the 2015 fall semester scholars represent the states of Alabama, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, South Carolina, Tennessee and Texas. They include (by hometown):

ARLINGTON, Texas—Madison E. Milhoan, a biological sciences/pre-medicine major.

BRANDON—Nicholas R. Lee, a mathematics major.

CHELSEA, Alabama—Kellie A. Mitchell, a biochemistry/pre-medicine major.

COLLIERVILLE, Tennessee—Andrew T. Collins, a geosciences/professional meteorology major.

DENISON, Texas—Ryan W. Williams, a foreign language/Latin major.

ELIZABETHTOWN, Kentucky—Taylor A. Graham, a geosciences/broadcast meteorology major.

GREER, South Carolina—Chandler F. Wavro, a psychology major.

HOOVER, Alabama—Destini A. Smith, a psychology major.

HUNTSVILLE, Alabama—Maxwell C. Moseley, an industrial engineering and communication/broadcasting double-major.

KOSCIUSKO—Sydney A. Duran, a biological sciences/pre-dental major.

MARIETTA—Alexander J. “Alex” Ward, a philosophy/religion and English double-major.

MCCOMB—Mary Linda Remley, a chemistry major.

OCEAN SPRINGS—Patricia E. Sloan, a finance/international business and foreign language/Spanish double-major.

OLIVE BRANCH—Caitlin R. Henley, a biological sciences/pre-medicine major.

PARKER, Colorado—Claire L. Winesett, a communication/public relations and journalism major.

PENSACOLA, Florida—Hannibal A. Brooks and Malcolm E. Brooks. Both are food science, nutrition and health promotion and economics double-majors.

RALEIGH—Tyler Smith, a secondary education major.

STARKVILLE—Rebecca K. Griffith, a foreign language/Spanish and Chinese major; Meredith D. Pearson, a psychology major; and Ashley N. Shook, a social work major.

TUPELO—Emily L. Williams, a secondary education and foreign language/Spanish double-major.

WATKINSVILLE, Georgia—Sydney E. Rodkey, a criminology major.

Learn more about the College of Arts and Sciences at www.cas.msstate.edu

MSU is Mississippi’s leading university, available online at www.msstate.edu.

Thursday, October 29, 2015 - 11:59 am