Phi Beta Kappa chapter at MSU announces new inductees

Contact: Allison Matthews

STARKVILLE, Miss.—The Gamma of Mississippi chapter of The Phi Beta Kappa Society at Mississippi State University is announcing the induction of more than 100 students in 2020 and 2021.

Selected for their extraordinary academic achievement in the arts and sciences, Phi Beta Kappa inductees are among the top 10 percent of their graduating class who have completed a broad range of liberal arts and sciences coursework, including foreign language study and mathematics.

The Phi Beta Kappa Society, founded on Dec. 5, 1776, is the nation's most prestigious academic honor society. It has chapters at 290 colleges and universities in the United States, 50 alumni associations, and more than half a million members worldwide. Noteworthy members include 17 U.S. presidents, 41 U.S. Supreme Court justices and more than 140 Nobel laureates.

2020 Phi Beta Kappa, Gamma of Mississippi Chapter student inductees (by hometown):

Phi Beta Kappa golden key

Allison Park, Pennsylvania—Julia Concolino, French/Marketing

Athens, Alabama—Rebecca Van Pamel, English

Baldwyn—Dawn Jackson, Spanish/Business Economics

Bartlett, Tennessee—Julia Canfield-Phillips, Spanish/Marketing

Belmont—Hannah Dunlap, Psychology

Blue Mountain—Taylor Ward, Mathematics

Brandon—Semaj Martin-Redd, Political Science; and Megan Walker, Chemistry/History

Brookhaven—Mackenzie Jackson, English; and Cameron Temple, English

Chelsea, Alabama—Morgan Gay, Communication

Clinton—Kayla Sartin, Anthropology and Classics

Columbus—Randa Byars, Communication

Cordova, Tennessee—Sara Pritchard, Communication

Corona, California—Sara Lizariturry Setien, Psychology

Crawford—Lacee Johnson, Asian Studies

Dubberly, Louisiana—Anna Tucker, English/Philosophy

Franklin, Tennessee—Charlotte Corr, Communication

Gulfport—Tarah Burrows, English; and Desiree Goodfellow, Anthropology

Hattiesburg—Elizabeth Lucas, Biological Sciences

Hernando—Cassidy Doss, Biological Sciences

Hoover, Alabama—Emily Couch, Mathematics

Horn Lake—Stephanie Nigrinis, French/Marketing

Jackson—Emily Box, Communication; and Jessica Davis, Mathematics

Johns Creek, Georgia—Leigh Taylor, French

Lake Cormorant—Rebekah Grisham, English

Lynn Haven, Florida—Melissa Cole, Spanish/Marketing

Madison, Alabama—James Moore, Spanish/Finance

Madison—Cameron Peets, Biological Sciences; and Laura Turner, Spanish/Management

Mandeville, Louisiana—Jennifer Casey, Spanish/Economics

Marion, Arkansas—Andrea Beyer, Chemical Engineering

Martin, Tennessee—William Dickens, Spanish/Finance

McGehee, Arkansas—Abby Miles, Biological Sciences

Memphis, Tennessee—Samuel Nieman, Biological Sciences

Mount Juliet, Tennessee—Dylan Bufkin, English

Muscle Shoals, Alabama—Joshua Aldridge, Biological Sciences

Nashville, Tennessee—Mary Boring, Spanish/Finance

Nesbit—Hannah Phillips, English

Starkville—Eun Bea Kim, Psychology; Martial Aime Kemdje Noumbi, Spanish/Marketing; and Jihyun Shin, Sociology

Sumrall—Emily Jeanmard, Political Science

Taylorsville—Kimberlyn Ivy, English

Tupelo—Vesil Dao, Psychology

Webb, Alabama—Colby Collins, Mathematics/Finance

2021 Phi Beta Kappa, Gamma of Mississippi Chapter student inductees (by hometown):

Acworth, Georgia—Tara Hambrick, Chemistry/Psychology

Alabaster, Alabama—Lindsey Downs, English

Bay Saint Louis—Dimetri Lyons, Communicaiton

Birmingham, Alabama—Reagan Clark, Political Science/Foreign Language

Blue Springs—Audra Myers, Communication

Bogue Chitto—Julianna Mills, Chemistry

Brandon—Estefania Armendariz, Chemistry; Jonathan Bailey, Political Science/Communication; Madison Land, Biological Sciences; and Roselynn Nelson, Mathematics/Electrical Engineering

Caruthersville, Missouri—Ellen Currie, Communication

Coldwater—Ryan Ware, Spanish/Finance

Collierville, Tennessee—David Rook, Anthropology; and Elizabeth Zabielski, Biological Sciences

Corinth—Benjamin Spencer, Mathematics

Diamondhead—Abby Guy, Political Science/Spanish

Falkville, Alabama—Emma Anders, English

Gulfport—Flora Dedeaux, Communication

Hernando—Melissa Wages, Political Science

Huntsville, Alabama—Hanna Blankenship, Spanish/Communication

Jackson—Camille Grady, Spanish

Jackson, Missouri—Allyson Jansen, Spanish/Finance

Jasper, Alabama—Dorothy Higgs, English

Joint Base Elmendorf-Richardson, Alaska—Majesty Henry, Communication

Lithia Springs, Georgia—Matthew Cline, Political Science

Long Beach—Katherine Rorabaugh, Mathematics

Lucedale—Reagan Sumrall, English

Madison—Christopher Friedrich, Spanish/Finance;Caitlyn Klauser, Spanish/Finance; Maeve Rigney, English/Political Science; and Rachel Russell, Spanish/Marketing

Mantee—Reagan Poston, English

Marietta, Georgia—Brianna Laverty, French/Marketing

Marion, Arkansas—Norman Hunter, Anthropology/Biological Sciences

Memphis, Tennessee—Madison Erwin, Criminology

Meridian—Sophia Calderon, Communication

Mooreville—Hunter Roberts, Spanish/Finance

Nashville, Tennessee—Gernie Batey, Biological Sciences

Ocean Springs—Dylan Mayne, Political Science/Spanish

Olive Branch—Lauren Adams, English

Ontario, Canada—Ashton Porter, French/Political Science

Petal—Mallory Nicholson, German/Business Administration

Picayune—Taylor Ladner, Microbiology/Biochemistry

Slidell, Louisiana—Emily Bouchereau, Spanish/Marketing

Starkville—John Dickerson, Spanish/Business Economics; Hannah Richardson, English; and Cheyenne Tucker, German/Business Administration

Summit—Laura Olive, Chemistry

Tupelo—Katlyn Grimes, Mathematics/Physics; Emberly Jackson, Biological Sciences; and Ross Weeden, Spanish/Finance

Tylertown—Py’Necious Cowart, Communication

Vienna, Virginia—Emily Tucker, Microbiology/Biochemistry

Washington, New Jersey—Justin Vence, Criminology

Windermere, Florida—Sinclair Keyes, French/Business Administration

MSU’s PBK chapter was installed in 2019, an occasion MSU President Mark E. Keenum called “the culmination of years of dedicated work on the part of so many scholars on this campus, past and present.” Among criteria are the university’s educational rigor in the arts and sciences, governance structure, faculty excellence, demonstrated commitment to academic freedom, and institutional dedication to liberal arts education.

The mission of The Phi Beta Kappa Society is to champion education in the liberal arts and sciences, foster freedom of thought, and recognize academic excellence. For more information, visit

MSU is Mississippi’s leading university, available online at

Tuesday, June 29, 2021 - 2:38 pm