Two-year college transfer students recognized as MSU Presidential Partnership Scholars

Contact: Harriet Laird

A dozen students stand on the steps of Lee Hall along with MSU President Mark Keenum
Mississippi State’s newest class of Presidential Partnership Scholars, all transfer students from the state’s community colleges, includes, first row from left: Celia Peal of Columbus, Iveyana Smith of Ripley, Mallory Mackenzie of French Camp, Trinity Baynham of Southaven, and Maggie Pettus of Gautier; second row, Katherine Wallace of Brookhaven, Alana McMullan of Decatur, MSU President Mark E. Keenum, and Emily McLaughlin of Tylertown; and third row, John Ready of Monticello, Ethan Spiers of Poplarville, Kyle Spencer of Woodland, and Jacob Dodd of Cleveland. Not pictured are recipients Katie Leigh Norris of Sandy Hook and Paxton Powell of Meridian. (Photo by Beth Wynn)

STARKVILLE, Miss.—Mississippi State University is announcing its newest Presidential Partnership Scholarship recipients, 14 top transfer students from the state’s community colleges.

All juniors and Mississippi residents, the group is recognized with the university’s most prestigious scholarships for two-year college transfers to MSU, with the award covering their full on-campus tuition cost.

To qualify, applicants must be a member of Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for two-year colleges. They also must be nominated by their respective Mississippi community college president and then are selected by the MSU Scholarship Committee.

“I am proud to be a graduate of a Mississippi community college,” said MSU President Mark E. Keenum. “This experience provided a solid foundation for me to continue my education at Mississippi State, where I would go on to earn three degrees. Mississippi’s community colleges and their graduates are the very best in the nation, and it is an honor to welcome these outstanding transfer students to our campus.”

Enrollment in MSU’s Presidential Partnership leadership class also is required and is co-taught by Assistant Dean of Students Catherine “Cat” Walker, also director of the Office of Parent and Family Services; Clay Armstrong, director of the Learning Center; and Paul McKinney, director of the Office of Financial Aid.

McKinney said, “This class gives the students an opportunity to expand their leadership skills while, at the same time, formulating positive relations with their peers. The class teaches them self-reliance, community engagement and what attributes are essential to being a leader in today’s world.”

This year’s Presidential Partnership Scholars are (by hometown):

BROOKHAVEN – Katherine L. Wallace, mathematics major

CLEVELAND – Jacob B. Dodd, agronomy major

COLUMBUS – Celia Kathryn Peal, food science, nutrition and health promotion major

DECATUR – Alana R. McMullan, human development and family science major

FRENCH CAMP – Mallory C. Mackenzie, social work major

GAUTIER – Maggie Nicole Pettus, computer science major

MERIDIAN – Paxton R. Powell, computer science major

MONTICELLO – John C. Ready, chemical engineering major

POPLARVILLE – Ethan B. Spiers, chemical engineering major

RIPLEY – Iveyana Kiara Smith, psychology major

SANDY HOOK – Katie Leigh Norris, poultry science/pre-veterinary science major

SOUTHAVEN – Trinity M. Baynham, elementary education major

TYLERTOWN – Emily R. McLaughlin, psychology major

WOODLAND – Kyle R. Spencer, communication major

Learn more about MSU scholarship opportunities at Apply to MSU at

MSU is Mississippi’s leading university, available online at

Thursday, September 30, 2021 - 11:32 am